Timor Leste is located on the eastern half of the island of Timor in Southeast Asia, near Indonesia and 600km from Australia. It has a total area of 14,874 square kilometres and a population of 1.309 million with Dili as its capital. The official languages are Tetum and Portuguese, while Indonesian and English are the working languages. Tetum is the commonly-used language and the major national language.

Timor Leste has experienced long-term colonial rule and occupation and declared independence in 2002. A vast number of infrastructure facilities were devastated and in need of restoration. The Timor Leste Strategic Development Plan 2011-2030 focuses on infrastructure development and economic diversification, the latter of which highlights tourism and agriculture for further development. The government encourages foreign investment with the Specialised Investment Agency (AEI) being responsible for the reviewing and approval of foreign direct investment (FDI) applications and provides one-stop services for investment and export promotion. According to the information of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, the total accumulated FDI in 2014 amounted to USD316 million, an increase of 11.3% as compared to 2013. According to the Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, China’s accumulated investment in Timor Leste during 2010 to 2014 has drastically increased from USD7.5 million to USD15.8 million.

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) pointed out that Timor Leste’s participation in the Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries (CPLP), as well as its liaisons with Australia and the European Union (EU), are bene cial to its development in globalization and regionalization. Timor Leste also expressed interest in accession to the World Trade Organisation (WTO). Its application for the membership of Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is also review.

Resources
Timor Sea is rich in oil and natural gas reserves which are the mainstay of the economy. As more than 90% of the economic revenue come from offshore oil and natural gas resources, most of Timor-Leste’s FDI were made in the oil and gas sectors. The Oil Fund set up in 2005 has become the major sources of capital for the nation’s infrastructure and social projects.

Agriculture
The agricultural population amounted to 90% of the total population and food is not self-sufficient. Major agricultural products are maize, rice and root crops. Cash crops are coffee, rubber and coconut.

External trade
The country actively develops external trade and aims to expand export trade. Major exports are cash crops such as coffee, sandalwood, rubber and coconut. Major trade partners include Indonesia, Australia, Mainland China, Singapore, Malaysia and Portugal. Timor Leste imports clothing, machinery and construction materials from China. Chinese-funded enterprises are interested in the infrastructure and public utilities market in the country.

Tourism
Timor Leste has enormous tourism potentials due to the numerous number of mountains, lakes, springs and beaches. The industry needs further development and receives around 10,000 tourists annually.

Main Economic Indicators 2015

Gross Domestic Product (US$ Million) 6.57
Real GDP growth (%) 4.3
GDP per capita (US$) 5,600
Infiation (%) 0.6
Land area (sq km) 1,4874
Population (Million) 1.309

Source:CIA-The World Factbook,
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/tt.html

FOREIGN TRADE (unit: US$ Billion)

Year Total Trade Exports Imports
2014 779.70 15.5 764.2

Major Export Commodities: oil, coffee, sandalwood, marble

Main Import Commodities: food, gasoline, kerosene, machinery

Source:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/tt.html

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

The Import and Export Trade Statistics Between Mainland China- Timor-Leste (unit: US$ billion)

Year Total Exports Imports
2013 0.4778 0.4738 0.00397
2012 0.6316 0.6247 0.0068

Source: Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

SOURCE
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

The Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

The Economic and Commercial Counselor’s Office of the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
http://co.mofcom.gov.cn/

The World Factbook
http://www.cia.gov/

http://timor-leste.gov.tl/

位於東南亞帝汶島東半部,靠近印尼,距澳洲約600公里。總面積14,874平方公里,人口130.9萬,德頓語(TETUM)和葡萄牙語為官方語言,印尼語和英語為工作語言,德頓語為通用語和主要民族語言,首都帝力。

歷經長期的殖民統治及被佔領期,儘管於2002年獨立,但大部分基礎設施被毀,百廢待興。該國制訂的2011至2030年策略發展計劃以基建和經濟多元化為重點,大力發展旅遊業和農業。政府積極鼓勵外商投資,東帝汶專責投資(The Specialised Investment Agency,簡稱AEI)負責審核外商直接投資申請,並為促進投資和出口提供一站式服務。據聯合國貿易和發展會議資料,2014年,東帝汶累計外商直接投資總額3.16億美元,較2013年增加11.3%。另據中國商務部數據,2010至2014年,中國對東帝汶的累計投資額倍增,由750萬美元增加至1,580萬美元。

國際貨幣基金組織指出,東帝汶參與葡語國家共同體,以及與澳洲和歐盟的聯繫,有利於該國在全球和區域一體化發展中獲益。東帝汶還表明有意加入世界貿易組織,其加入東盟的申請亦在審批中。

資源
帝汶海石油和天然氣資源儲量豐富,油氣收入為主要經濟支柱。由於整個國家90%以上經濟收入依賴離岸石油及天然氣資源,故石油及天然氣領域吸引最多外商直接投資。2005年成立的石油基金成為國家基建和社會項目的主要資金來源。

農業
農業人口佔總人口90%。糧食不能自給,主要農產品有玉米、稻穀、薯類等,經濟作物有咖啡、橡膠、椰子等。

對外貿易
積極發展外貿,努力擴大出口。主要出口產品為咖啡、檀香木、橡膠和椰子等經濟作物。主要貿易夥伴包括印尼、澳洲、中國、新加坡、馬來西亞和葡萄牙,從中國以進口服裝、機械及建築材料為主,中資企業對當地的基建及公用事業市場甚感興趣。

旅遊業
多山、湖、泉、海灘,具有一定旅遊潛力,但旅遊資源尚待開發,每年接待外國遊客約1萬人。

二零一五年主要經濟指標

本地生產總值(十億美元) 6.57
本地生產總值實際增長率(百分比) 4.3
人均生產總值(美元) 5,600
通賬率(百分比) 0.6
土地面積(平方公里) 1,4874
人口(百萬) 1.309

資料來源:CIA-The World Factbook,
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/tt.html

對外貿易 (單位: 百萬美元)

年份 貿易總額 總出口額 總進口額
2014 779.70 15.5 764.2

主要出口產品: 石油、咖啡、檀香、大理石。

主要進口產品: 食品、汽油、煤油、機械。

資料來源:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/tt.html

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

中國與東帝汶進出口貿易統計 (單位:十億美元)

年份 進出口總額 出口總額 進口總額
2013 0.4778 0.4738 0.00397
2012 0.6316 0.6247 0.0068

資料來源: 中華人民共和國商務部, http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

資料來源
中華人民共和國外交部網站
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

中華人民共和國商務部網站
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

中華人民共和國駐葡萄牙大使館經濟商務參贊處網站
http://co.mofcom.gov.cn/

世界概況網站
http://www.cia.gov/

http://timor-leste.gov.tl/