In a major tourism destination such as Macao, smart tourism is an integral part of Macao’s transformation into a smart city.

Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes, Director of the Macao Government Tourism Office (MGTO), said her office would be ready to launch new technology to further the city’s smart tourism development in 2019, including a “tourism information interchange platform”, an “application for visitor insights” and a “smart application for visitor flows”.

According to MGTO, in addition to big data, service robots and chatbots would be used to enhance the visitor experience in Macao.

The new offering was developed in partnership with Alibaba Cloud, a subsidiary of Mainland Chinese technology giant Alibaba Group, under the “Framework Agreement of Strategic Co-operation on Smart City Development”, signed by the Macao SAR Government and Alibaba Group in 2017.

Ms Senna Fernandes said in a press conference in December 2018 that the three projects are close to completion and are expected to come into service in “early 2019”. She also believes the three projects will lead to greater conveniences for visitors, the city’s tourism industry and for Macao residents.

Thus far, MGTO has already implemented a range of smart tourism initiatives for residents and visitors alike, such as new mobile applications, interactive information screens, and the “Gastronomy Map” website.

澳門作為重要的旅遊城市,智慧旅遊是讓澳門轉型為智慧城市的一個重要組成部分。澳門旅遊局局長文綺華表示,旅遊局於2019年推出新的科技以進一步推動發展智慧旅遊城市,包括「旅遊資訊交換平台」、 「旅客洞察應用」及「智慧客流應用」等三個項目。

旅遊局指出,藉助大數據應用、服務機械人和聊天機械人,可向旅客提供更佳的旅遊體驗,這些都是透過澳門特區政府與阿里巴巴集團於2017年簽署的「構建智慧城市戰略全作框架協議」後,澳門與中國電商阿里巴巴集團旗下阿里雲合力開發的。

2018年12月,文綺華在一個新聞發佈會上指出,這三個項目已接近完成階段,預計可於2019年初正式投入使用,並相信項目可為旅客、澳門旅遊業界以及澳門市民帶來便利。

目前,旅遊局已經推出多個智慧旅遊項目供市民和遊客使用,如一些新的手機應用程式、互動資訊屏幕和美食地圖網站等