MI71-P44

The future of Macao’s economy looks promising in the eyes of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) thanks to the continued growth of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area. Better connection with neighbouring regions means greater opportunities and local SMEs are moving fast to ride the wave of change.

Fashion fast forward

The manufacturing of clothing was once the backbone of Macao’s economy in the 1980s until the industry started to go downhill later on. That however does not mean the fashion industry has vanished entirely from Macao. Quite the contrary. A new generation of small, individual local brands are now attracting the attention of local fashionistas.

Nega C. Fashion Macau, a homegrown vintage reproduction design house, is one of Macao’s up-and-coming fashion brands. Founded five years ago by local fashion designer Isabella Choi, Nega C. is taking its own spin on vintage-inspired style. Located at Avenida do Ouvidor Arriaga, Nega C.’s stylish boutique dedicates half of its space to in-house designed clothing items, footwear and accessories, whereas the other half of the shop sells imported trendy clothing items from South Korea and other regions around the world.

Nega C.’s own creations are inspired by fashion trends in England, where Ms Choi pursued her degree in fashion design. “Vintage elements, floral prints, playful colours and feminine touches are the signatures of my creations. Our production line is in small runs. Every piece of clothing is well-made with durable fabrics under very strict quality control at our production studio, so what we offer are perfect for sophisticated shoppers who seek fine details,” explained Ms Choi, Creative Director of the brand.

The vibrant clothing racks at Nega C. are full of clothes in all different shapes, colours and details. They are anything but dark and dull. The best way to keep customers interested, is to keep up the hype and excitement of new products, Ms Choi said.

Nega C. launches a new collection every one to two months and introduces 60 to 70 new styles every season. “From design to production, retail to marketing, I’m involved in the front and back line of the business, which enables me to understand the market trends and determine better strategies for promoting sales, cutting costs and bringing in new opportunities,” Ms Choi told Macao Image.

Fast fashion and a growing online shopping culture have dramatically changed the global retail landscape. Moving fast at lower prices leads to major competition among brands and sellers. To cope with the fast-changing business environment, Nega C. is planning on establishing their presence online. “Pinkoi is a renowned platform for original designer brands. We’re preparing to join the platform and start selling overseas through the partnership,” said Ms Choi.

Jumping into a competitive environment requires a lot of effort, and Nega C. believes marketing is where their focus needs to be. “Brand awareness can lead to sales opportunities and much more. Currently, we are upscaling our marketing strategies through online ads and active participation in trade fairs. Through these means, we hope to connect with more potential buyers and lead to greater brand development in the long run,” she added.

MI71-P45

“Pinkoi is a renowned platform for original designer brands. We’re preparing to join the platform and start selling overseas through the partnership.” Isabella Choi, Founder of Nega C. Fashion Macau

Southeast Asian flavour in Macao

“The Three Lamps” area near Rotunda de Carlos da Maia is home to many overseas Chinese from Southeast Asia who have returned to Macao to live. Visitors to “The Three Lamps” will discover the area dotted with colourful little eateries and mini-supermarkets offering authentic Southeast Asian delicacies, dry goods and ingredients.

The flavours of Myanmar are very popular among both local and foreign workers in Macao. Every afternoon, you will see a long queue of people waiting to get into QQ Food World – a tiny grocery store at Rua da Madre Terezina. The shop offers a few hundred varieties of ingredients, spices, snacks and dry goods from Myanmar and its neighbouring countries. Among the long list of products, QQ Food World’s homemade belacan sauces – a type of shrimp paste – are without doubt, their best-sellers.

“We’ve developed various recipes with localised flavours. For belacan, we always source the highest quality dried shrimps from Myanmar to ensure the best taste,” explained Sanny Lou, Chairman of QQ Food World. Mr Lou is Chinese and has returned to Macao from Myanmar. In 2007, he started his own Southeast Asian food product wholesale business and runs a small Myanmar eatery in “The Three Lamps” area.

Taking the original belacan recipe, QQ Food World made a few more tweaks to create a few more varieties such as dried fish belacan, dried beef belacan, dried squid belacan and XO sauce belacan. “Southeast Asians love belacan, which can be mixed with noodles and rice, and work as an enhancer to countless dishes. Basically, no meal is complete without belacan,” Mr Lou said. As more and more people are concerned about leading healthier lifestyles, one of QQ Food World’s goals is to launch their first-ever vegetarian belacan product made of mushrooms in the near future for their vegetarian customers.

Belacan is also becoming more appealing to the Mainland Chinese, so Macao’s very own master of belacan sauce plans to seize this opportunity to export his products to the Mainland China market.

“We are actively participating in tradeshows throughout different Chinese cities to promote our products, and we are also working on expanding our production line in a modern factory space,” Mr Lou told Macao Image. “On top of this, we are also launching our products on Taobao and opening another small eatery near the Red Market. I believe these moves will definitely have a positive influence on our future developments.”

MI71-P46

“We are actively participating in tradeshows throughout different Chinese cities to promote our products, and we are also working on expanding our production line in a modern factory space.” Sanny Lou, Chairman of QQ Food World

MI71-P44

隨着粵港澳大灣區的發展趨勢,不少本地中小企業均認為澳門經濟前景樂觀。當澳門與鄰近地區的聯繫更緊密,便意味着更好的機遇, 促使中小企乘勢發展。

別樹一幟的原創服飾

成衣製造業是在上世紀80年代主導本澳經濟的骨幹行業,直至後期才開始逐漸走下坡。然而,這並不代表時裝行業已經不存在於本澳,剛剛相反,不少新一代的本地原創服飾品牌在近年漸露頭角,吸引時尚達人的目光。

Nega C.就是其中一個年輕本地品牌。由本地時裝設計師徐雅婷小姐於5年前創辦,Nega C.是以復古設計為主軸的時裝品牌,演繹不同概念的時裝類型。Nega C.的服飾店位於澳門雅廉訪大馬路,小小的時裝店內充滿格調,店內一半為自家設計、自家生產的服飾及鞋具,另一半為由韓國及世界各地進口的時裝。

Nega C.的設計總監徐雅婷曾在英國攻讀時裝設計學位,因此作品的靈感亦主要源自英倫的時裝風格,「復古元素、碎花圖案、顏色拼搭及優雅的細節皆是我們品牌的主要特色。我們的生產模式屬少量製作,每個款式皆以優質、耐用的物料在我們的工作室製作,並通過嚴格的品質監控;因此,我們出品的服裝非常適合對衣着品味有要求、喜歡特別細節的時尚愛好者。」徐雅婷表示。

店內的陳列架上充滿着各款不同外形、顏色及細節的服裝,款色看來一點也不沉悶。對Nega C.而言,以新款式帶來新鮮感就是留住客人的最好方法。

目前,Nega C.每一至兩個月便會推出一個新系列,合計起來,每一季有約推出60至70件新品供客人選擇。「由設計到生產,由銷售到市場推廣,所牽涉的前線及後台工作我都會親力親為,這樣能讓我掌握市場動向,有助我們確定推銷、減低成本及引入新機遇等方面的策略。」徐雅婷對本刊說。

「速食時裝」及網上購物的流行顛覆了全球的時裝零售業。以低廉的價錢快速地製造大量新產品,這種趨勢造成了品牌及賣家之間的激烈競爭。為了應對「快速」的市場環境,Nega C.現正籌備在特色原創網站開拓銷售商機,「Pinkoi是一個推動原創設計的知名銷售平台,我們正準備加盟Pinkoi,將自家產品遠銷至海外。」

面對着充滿業界競爭的營商環境,Nega C.認為他們在營銷方面的工夫絕對需要加大力度。「品牌推廣能夠帶動銷售,甚至為我們帶來其他機遇。當下,我們正積極透過網上廣告及到不同地區參展,以提升品牌的知名度。我們希望能夠接觸到更多潛在的買家,為品牌的長遠發展打好基礎。」

MI71-P45

「Pinkoi是一個推動原創設計的知名銷售平台,我們正準備加盟Pinkoi,將自家產品遠銷至海外。 」 Nega C. 創辦人徐雅婷

澳門的東南亞風味

在嘉路米耶圓形地附近,即為人認知的「三盞燈」區域,是本澳東南亞歸僑的聚集地。在這一區的街道上,有着各式各樣的食店及雜貨店,售賣地道東南亞的美食、乾貨及食材。

緬甸風味廣受本地及本澳外來僱傭的愛好。每日下午,在位於拿爹利仙拿姑娘街娘街的QQ美食門外,都會有一條長長的人龍排隊等待進店購買東南亞特色美味食品。這家雜貨店可謂「麻雀雖小,五臟俱全」,店內售賣着數百種來自緬甸及東南亞國家的食材、調味料、小食及乾貨,而眾多商品中,最深受大眾歡迎的,莫過於QQ美食自家生產的馬拉盞醬。

「我們自家配方調製的馬拉盞適合本地人喜歡的口味;一直以來,我們直接在緬甸進口最優質的蝦乾,以製作出最美味的口感。」QQ美食董事長盧九俊先生表示。盧先生是緬甸歸僑,自2007開始經營東南亞食品批發及一間位於三盞燈的緬甸食店。

由原來的馬拉盞醬出發,QQ美食進一步研發及配製出多款不同種類的馬拉盞醬,包括魚乾馬拉盞、牛肉乾馬拉盞、魷魚乾馬拉盞及XO醬馬拉盞。「東南亞國家都十分喜歡馬拉盞。不論是配搭米飯、麵食還是主菜,馬拉盞均能為無數的菜式提升味道,基本上每一餐都少不了馬拉盞。」盧先生表示。現今不少人都崇尚健康的飲食標準,有見及此,QQ美食正在研製首種以蘑菇製作而成的素食馬拉盞,以吸引素食者的青睞。

近年來,隨着馬拉盞逐漸廣受內地市場的歡迎,作為澳門自製馬拉盞的元祖,QQ美食亦正準備抓緊機會把產品開拓至內地市場。

盧先生表示:「目前,我們馬不停蹄地到中國內地多個省市參與展銷會,亦正在籌劃擴大生產線至現代廠房、把零售拓展至淘寶銷售平台,以及在紅街市附近加開一間食店。相信多元的發展方向能夠引領我們的業務,帶來正面的影響。」

MI71-P46

「目前,我們馬不停蹄地到中國內地多個省市參與展銷會,亦正在籌劃擴大生產線至現代廠房。」 QQ美食董事長盧九俊