Study of Evolution of SME Business in Macao – from the Perspective of the “Online Consumer” Behavior in Mainland China

With the rapid growth of e-commerce, the size of “Online Consumer Group” in Mainland China is continuously growing. Recent statistics suggests that the number of e-commerce user in China has increased from 690 million in 2017 to 830 million in 2019, which implies that consumer behavior might have a great impact on enterprises’ operation and performance.

 

This report sorts out the consumer behaviors of the “Online Consumer Group” in Mainland China, includes:

1. Preference in using mobile payment: mobile phone and tablet are now the dominant devices Mainland consumers use for making payments. According to Global Ecommerce 2019, published by research institute eMarketer, 80% of the value of e-commerce trade in 2019 was transacted via mobile devices. As manifested by the data released by Statista, Alipay and WeChat Pay are the most used mobile payment methods in Mainland China, with respectively 87% and 76% of market penetration by the end of 2019. Based on the data, other frequently used payment methods included “QQ Wallet” and “Baidu Wallet”.

2. Increased use of social media in terms of discovering matters that interest consumers: The number of people in Mainland China looking for and directly buying things that interest them surged dramatically. According to China Digital Consumer Trends 2019, 50% of interviewed subjects browsed through goods on social media platforms, which might lead to their consumption; 48% of interviewees would be interested by the goods; 25% of interviewed individuals would even directly purchase goods on social media platforms.

3. Preference in making decision to spend money after having both online and offline customer experience: China Digital Consumer Trends 2019 reported that more and more customers in Mainland China tended to combine online and offline customer experience before deciding whether to spend money for goods or services. Take apparel market – the biggest part in China’s e-commerce market – as example, 85% of customers would have both online and offline customer experiences, including “actually seeing/touching/hearing the products and buying online” (4%), “evaluating the products online and buying them at brick-and-mortar shops” (32%) and “comprehensively mixed experience” (meaning both online and offline customer experiences are involved in the whole consumption process) (49%).

 

Addressing the continuous growth in the population of “Online Consumer Group” in Mainland China, many small and medium-sized enterprises (hereinafter referred to as “SMEs”) in Macao have made corresponding adjustments in business operation, including:

1. Accepting a variety of mobile payment methods: More mobile payment methods are now available in Macao merchants to provide better shopping experience for tourists. In particular, “Alipay” and “WeChat Pay”, which are the payment methods mostly used by the Online Consumer Group in Mainland China, are penetrating the Macao market increasingly.

2. Use of new media for advertising and promotion: Taking into consideration that Mainland costumers tend to look for information and products that interest them on social media, different sectors in Macao are now publicising their products in more diversified ways on new media platforms. Such approach allows products to reach more Mainland customers in a more effective way.

3. Application of technological means in MICE events: To keep up with times, more and more technologies are employed in Macao’s conventions and exhibitions, which are currently some of the most important platforms for SMEs to publicise their companies and products.

 

From the perspective of “Experience Economy”, to build up a better consumer experience, this report recommends Macao SMEs the following:

1. Enhancing the efficiency of operational management by adopting mobile technologies, such as mobile food ordering systems.

2. Encouraging customers to share the consumer experience via social platforms, launching special offers on e-commerce platforms on a regularly basis, publicising products via short videos or live-streaming.

3. Increasing participation in MICE events, especially the trade events in Mainland China as they can serve as offline publicity platform, which has great potential to be combined with product promotion on social media mentioned above and grow into effective sales channels.

More mobile payment methods are now available in Macao merchants

More mobile payment methods are now available in Macao merchants

Tin313_P8b

Mobile phone and tablet are now the dominant devices Mainland consumers use for making payments

基於內地“網購族群”消費行為和模式,思考澳門中小企業的業態轉變

隨著內地電商業務發展迅速,內地“網購族群”也不斷擴大。統計數據顯示內地電商用戶數量由2017年的6.9億上升至2019年的8.3億,其消費行為和模式對企業的經營業態有深遠影響。

 

本報告疏理內地“網購族群”的消費習慣和模式,主要包括:

1. 慣於使用移動裝置支付:手機和平板電腦等移動裝置已成為內地消費者的主要支付工具。研究機構eMarketer發佈的《Global Ecommerce 2019》指出,在2019年內地電商貿易金額中,約80%通過移動裝置進行。而Statista的資料顯示,截至2019年底,“支付寶”和“微信支付”是內地最常用的移動支付方式,滲透率分別達87%及76%,其餘較常用的方式包括“QQ錢包”、“百度錢包”等。

2. 更多使用社交平台發掘和購買感興趣事物:內地用戶在社交媒體上發掘感興趣商品、並直接進行購買的比例大幅增長。根據《China Digital Consumer Trends 2019》,50%受訪者會留意社交平台上的商品,並會因此而進行消費;48%受訪者會對商品感興趣;25%受訪者更表示會於社交平台上直接進行購物。

3. 偏向結合線上和線下體驗去作出消費決策:《China Digital Consumer Trends 2019》指出,中國消費者越來越偏向結合線上及線下體驗去作消費決策。以佔電子商務市場最大份額的服裝為例,85%消費者曾同時接觸線上及線下營銷,包括“線下感受,線上購買”(4%)、“線上評估,線下購買”(32%)及“跨渠道體驗(即融合線上和線下體驗至整個消費過程中)”(49%)。

 

因應內地“網購族群”的持續增長,現時澳門不少中小企業也在經營業態上作出相應的調整,當中包括:

1. 受理多種類的移動支付方式:澳門商戶受理的移動支付方式也漸趨多元化,尤其是內地“網購族群”偏好使用的“支付寶”和“微信支付”等在澳門的滲透度不斷提升,為旅客提供了更體貼的消費體驗。

2. 運用新媒體進行宣傳推廣:考慮到內地消費者偏好在社交平台上吸收資訊並發掘有興趣的產品,澳門社會各界正加強運用新媒體以多元化形式進行宣傳推廣,以更有效地接觸內地消費者,擴大輻射面。

3. 提升科技手段在會展活動中的應用:澳門會展活動作為中小企業進行宣傳推廣的重要平台,近年也與時俱進,注入更豐富的科技元素。

 

從“體驗經濟”角度出發,為了與時俱進營造更好消費體驗,本報告建議澳門中小企業:

1. 加強利用移動網絡技術提升營運管理效率,例如裝設移動點餐系統;

2. 鼓勵顧客在社交平台上分享消費體驗的同時,在電子消費平台上定期推出優惠,並透過短視頻或“線上直播”作宣傳;

3. 多參與會展活動,尤其是在內地舉行的經貿展會,以此作為線下推廣平台,並與上述的社交媒體推廣有機結合,實行跨渠道營銷。

澳門商戶受理的移動支付方式也漸趨多元化

澳門商戶受理的移動支付方式也漸趨多元化

Tin313_P8b

手機和平板電腦等移動裝置已成為內地消費者的主要支付工具