Guangdong Accelerates the Transformation into a Strong Competitor in Foreign Trade and Economy – with Last Year’s Total Imports and Exports Amounted to 7.14 Trillion Yuan

Despite the complex economic environment wherein both risks and challenges are rising at home and abroad, Guangdong Province has made every effort to stabilise foreign trade and foreign investment with significantly improved quality and efficiency. Guangdong is accelerating its pace to transform from a huge supplier into a competitive province in foreign trade. On the morning of 14 January, the “Report on the Work of the Government” (hereafter referred to as “the Report”) submitted at the Third Session of the Thirteenth National People’s Congress in Guangdong revealed that the total foreign trade volume of Guangdong in 2019 reached 7.14 trillion yuan. The total exports went as high as 4.34 trillion yuan, which showed an increase of 1.6%; the actual use of foreign capital was 150 billion yuan, demonstrating a 3.5% increase.

Development of new trends in foreign trade has accelerated; cross-border e-commerce imports and exports have increased by 36.9%
In 2019, in addition to the “Nine-Point Foreign Trade Stablisation Programme”, Guangdong launched the “32-point Quality & Stable Foreign Trade Development Plan”, the new “10-Point Guangdong Plan”, measures to optimise the ports’ business environment and facilitate cross-border trade, reducing the adverse effects of economic and trade friction.

“The survival of foreign trade companies depends on export orders. This saying shows that competing for orders and expanding diversified markets play a very important part in business development.” said Mr Zheng Jianrong, Director of Department of Commerce of Guangdong Province. Guangdong has built close relationships with key markets along “the Belt and Road” initiative such as Vietnam, Malaysia and Poland. It also hosts 34 Guangdong product exhibitions in 22 countries and regions, demonstrating a further optimised structure of trade market.

The Report showed that last year, Guangdong’s imports from and exports to EU and ASEAN increased by 10.7% and 4.9% respectively; total imports and exports from/ to countries along the “Belt and Road” went up by 4.7%.

Guangdong’s foreign trade is also opening a new chapter. Shantou and Foshan were approved to set up Cross-Border E-Commerce Comprehensive Pilot Zones, following Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Zhuhai and Dongguan. Driven by various Cross-Border E-Commerce Comprehensive Pilot Zones, Guangdong’s cross-border e-commerce imports and exports have been maintaining gratifying growth. The Report showed that Guangdong’s cross-border e-commerce total imports and exports increased by 36.9% last year.

Mr Bai Ming is the Vice Director of International Market Research Institute, Chinese Academy of International Trade and Economic Cooperation. In his opinion, the significant improvement in the quality and efficiency of foreign trade has benefited from Guangdong’s early planning of industrial transformation and upgrade. “As a manufacturing centre in the world, Guangdong started its transformation and upgrade at a very early stage, which resulted in consolidated industrial foundation for foreign trade upgrading.” With the improvement of Sino-US economic and trade relations, Guangdong now faces more opportunities for foreign trade development, and high-tech products, in particular, have great potential to open up a larger international market.

Investment environment has become more attractive. A number of high-quality foreign-invested projects landed in Guangdong

In the past year, large projects including BASF and GE offshore wind power project officially kicked off. Hyundai implements its automotive hydrogen fuel cell power system project in Guangzhou. A great number of high-quality foreign-invested projects are now implemented in Guangdong, consolidating the high-quality development of Guangdong’s real economy.

The Report showed that the number of projects with actual investment exceeding US $ 100 million in Guangdong increased by 19.4% last year. This is a result of Guangdong’s effective implementation of the negative list of foreign investment and the “10-point Guangdong Plan”, further reducing market access restrictions, creating a more attractive investment environment with better land resources guarantee and manpower provision.

In recent years, Guangdong Province has taken the lead to establish a direct contact mechanism to multinational companies, enhance and craft investment platforms such as the Guangdong-Europe and Guangdong-US Investment Co-operation Exchange Meetings, vigorously introducing high-quality foreign-invested projects in the fields of biomedicine, communication equipment manufacturing, scientific and technological achievements transformation services, further optimising the use of foreign investment structures. Statistics from the Department of Commerce showed that the first 11 months of 2019, the foreign investment in actual use of high-tech industry amounted to 30.25 billion Yuan, accounting for 21.2% of the entire province.

In the past year, the Guangdong Free Trade Pilot Zone’s negative list of Hong Kong and Macao cross-border service trade was subsumed under the newly signed supplementary agreement to CEPA on trade in service. 160 more public services have been launched and synchronised in different cities of the Greater Bay Area, which significantly enhanced cross-border trade facilitation.

“In the next step, we will enrich pre-establishment national treatment for healthy foreign investments with negative list management system, promoting the opening-up of manufacturing, service industries and agriculture, while easing market access measures in education, medical care and housekeeping areas.” Zheng Jianrong said, Guangdong will enhance the province-led direct contact mechanism to multinational companies, accelerating the implementation of a number of large foreign investment projects.

 

Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao join hands in setting up the “Economic and Trade Platform” to create business opportunities

The Department of Commerce of Guangdong Province, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) and the Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM) joined hands to establish the “Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform”. The Platform was launched on 4 December 2019 in Hong Kong. Representatives from Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao are expecting that the Platform can bring more business opportunities to enterprises in the three places.

“Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform” aims to introduce the business environment, the latest business and investment developments in Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao to enterprises of these three cities and all around the world.

The Platform includes economic data of 23 cities including Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, such as local GDP, total imports and exports. It will provide relevant information in accordance with the development of Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao economic and trade cooperation. For example, HKTDC will provide regional statistics of various industries, implementation plans of relevant policies and research reports of different industries.

In the launching ceremony, Mr Chen Yuehua, Deputy Director of Department of Commerce of Guangdong Province, said that the launch of this Platform would provide convenient and efficient consulting services for global investors and traders, which will considerably benefit the overall development of the Greater Bay Area.

He said that the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area development plan has attracted the attention of many investors around the world. If the advantages of the manufacturing industry in the Greater Bay Area and the advantages of the Hong Kong and Macao service industries are combined, the three places can work together to gain a foothold in the global manufacturer market.

Mr Stephen Liang, Assistant Executive Director of HKTDC said that this Platform demonstrates that enterprises are seizing business opportunities. At the same time, it also has become a window for investment and economic co-operation among Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao, promoting the common development of the three places. He believed that with the enhanced cooperation between the three places, Hong Kong will certainly be able to assist GBA companies in growing towards high-end development, using Hong Kong as an international trade platform, to “go global” and bring in investments.

Mr Vincent U, Executive Director of IPIM said that only co-operation and innovation can trigger different increments. The “Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform” is exactly the result of the co-operation and innovation of the economic and trade departments of the three places. He believed that entrepreneurs can better understand the Greater Bay Area through this platform and thus obtain more business opportunities.

Launching ceremony of the “Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform”

Launching ceremony of the “Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform”

廣東向外經貿強省轉變進程加快,去年外貿進出口總額7.14萬億元

面對國內外風險挑戰明顯上升的複雜局面,廣東省全力穩外貿穩外資,質量和效益明顯提升,外經貿大省向外經貿強省轉變進程加快。1月14日上午,廣東省十三屆人大三次會議提交審議的政府工作報告(下稱“報告”)透露,2019年全省外貿進出口總額7.14萬億元,其中出口4.34萬億元、增長1.6%;實際利用外資1,500億元、增長3.5%。

外貿新業態發展加快 跨境電商進出口增長36.9%

2019年,廣東在出台“穩外貿九條”的基礎上,出台“促進外貿高品質穩定發展32條”、新“外資十條”、優化口岸營商環境促進跨境貿易便利化若干措施,並降低經貿摩擦的不利影響。

“出口訂單直接關係到外貿企業生存,幫助企業搶抓訂單、開拓多元化市場是商務工作的重頭戲。”廣東省商務廳廳長鄭建榮介紹,廣東深耕越南、馬來西亞、波蘭等“一帶一路”沿線重點市場,在全球22個國家和地區舉辦34場境外廣東商品展覽會,貿易市場結構進一步優化。

報告顯示,預計去年廣東對歐盟、東盟進出口分別增長10.7%和4.9%,對“一帶一路”沿線國家進出口總額增長4.7%。

廣東的外貿新業態也發展迅速。繼廣州、深圳、珠海、東莞後,汕頭、佛山兩市於去年獲批設立跨境電商綜合試驗區。在多個跨境電商綜試區探索帶動下,廣東跨境電商進出口一直保持高位增長。報告顯示,去年廣東跨境電商進出口增長36.9%。

在商務部研究院國際市場研究所副所長白明看來,外貿品質和效益的顯著提升,得益於廣東產業轉型升級的提早謀劃。“作為全世界的製造業中心,廣東很早就推動轉型升級,夯實了外貿升級的產業基礎。”隨著中美經貿關係的改善,廣東外貿發展的機會更多,尤其是高技術含量的商品,可開拓更大的國際市場。

投資環境更有吸引力 一批高品質外資項目落戶廣東

過去一年,巴斯夫、GE海上風電項目正式開工建設,現代汽車氫燃料電池動力系統項目落戶廣州,一批高品質外資項目,有力支撐著廣東實體經濟高品質發展。
報告顯示,去年廣東實際到資超1億美元項目數量增長19.4%。這得益於廣東深入落實外商投資負面清單和“外資十條”,進一步減少市場准入限制,在用地保障、人才支持等方面營造更具吸引力的投資環境。

近年來,廣東健全省領導聯繫跨國公司直通車機制,提升打造粵歐、粵美投資合作交流會等投資平台,大力引進生物醫藥、通信設備製造、科技成果轉化服務等優質外資項目,利用外資結構進一步優化。來自省商務廳的資料顯示,去年前11個月,高技術產業實際利用外資302.5億元、佔全省的21.2%。
過去一年,廣東自貿試驗區對港澳跨境服務貿易負面清單被採納至最新簽署的CEPA服務貿易補充協定,推出160項政務服務“灣區通辦”事項,跨境貿易便利化水準顯著提升。

“接下來,將健全外商投資准入前國民待遇加負面清單管理制度,推動製造業、服務業、農業擴大開放,爭取教育、醫療、家政等領域放寬市場准入措施率先在廣東落地執行。”鄭建榮說,廣東還將強化省領導聯繫跨國公司直通車機制,加快推動一批外資大項目落地。

 

粵港澳攜手建立“經貿合作信息平台”共拓商機

廣東省商務廳、香港貿易發展局、澳門貿易投資促進局共同建立的“粵港澳經貿合作信息平台”於2019年12月4日在香港啟動。粵港澳三地代表期望這一平台能為各地企業開拓更多商機。

“粵港澳經貿合作信息平台”旨在向粵港澳三地乃至全球各地企業,介紹粵港澳三地的營商環境和最新商貿及投資狀況。

該平台包含粵港澳23個城市的經濟資料、地區生產總值和進出口資料等,將按照粵港澳經貿合作發展需要提供相關資訊。例如香港方面,香港貿發局將提供各個行業的地區統計資料、相關政策實施方案和不同產業的研究報告等。

廣東省商務廳副廳長陳越華在當天的啟動儀式上表示,這一信息平台的開通將為全球投資者和貿易商提供便捷高效的諮詢服務,有利於大灣區整體發展。他說,粵港澳大灣區發展規劃吸引了全球眾多外來投資者的目光,若將大灣區內製造業優勢與港澳服務業的優勢結合起來,可讓三地攜手走進世界第三方市場。

香港貿發局助理總裁梁國浩表示,該信息平台能幫助各地企業掌握商機,同時成為粵港澳三地面向世界的一個投資經貿合作視窗,推動三地共同發展。他認為,隨著三地加強合作,香港一定能協助大灣區的企業邁向高端發展,以及利用香港這個國際商貿平台“走出去”、“引進來”。

澳門貿易投資促進局執行委員余雨生表示,合作創新才能帶來不一樣增量,“粵港澳經貿合作信息平台”是三地經貿部門合作創新出來的成果,他相信企業家們通過這個平台能夠更好地了解大灣區的資訊,從而獲得更多商機。

Launching ceremony of the “Guangdong, Hong Kong and Macao Economic and Trade Platform”

“粵港澳經貿合作信息平台”啟動儀式