EU trade agreement with Vietnam

The European Union signed a landmark free trade agreement (FTA) with Vietnam on 30 June, 2019 in Hanoi; which is the most ambitious free trade deal ever concluded with a developing country. It provides for almost complete (99%) elimination of customs duties between the two blocks. 65% of duties on EU exports to Vietnam will disappear as soon as the FTA enters into force, while the remainder will be phased out gradually over a period of up to 10 years. As regards Vietnamese exports to the EU, 71% of duties will disappear upon entry into force, the remainder being phased out over a period of up to 7 years.

The FTA will also reduce many of the existing non-tariff barriers to trade with Vietnam and open up Vietnamese services and public procurement markets to EU companies, while the IPA will strengthen protection of EU investments in the country.

As one of the “New generation” bilateral agreements, the EU-Vietnam trade deal also contains important provisions on intellectual property protection, investment liberalization and sustainable development. On this last aspect, the FTA includes commitments to implement International Labour Organisation core standards (for instance on the freedom to join independent trade unions and on banning child labour) and UN conventions relating for example to the fight against climate change or the protection of biodiversity.

Negotiations between the EU and Vietnam started in June 2012 and were concluded on 2 December 2015. However, the formal conclusion of the agreement was delayed by a pending opinion of the European Court of Justice on the division of competencies between the EU and its member states relating to the conclusion of the EU-Singapore FTA.

Following the opinion of the Court delivered in May 2017, the Commission decide to propose two separate agreements:

  • a free trade agreement, which contains areas of exclusive EU competence and thus only requires the Council’s approval and the European Parliament’s consent before it can enter into force.
  • an investment protection agreement which, due to its shared competence nature, will also have to go through the relevant national ratification procedures in all member states before it can enter into force. The time horizon for the implementation of this act is therefore expected to be much longer.

Vietnam is the EU’s second largest trading partner in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) after Singapore, with trade in goods worth almost €50 billion a year and almost €4 billion when it comes to services. While EU investment stocks in Vietnam remain modest, standing at €8.3 billion in 2016, an increasing number of European companies are establishing there to set up a hub to serve the Mekong region. Main EU imports from Vietnam include telecommunications equipment, clothing and food products. The EU mainly exports to Vietnam goods such as machinery and transport equipment, chemicals and agricultural products.

Tin304_p14a

Tin304_p14b

Source:

For more information and details regarding “EU Intellectual Property”, please visit the website at:

http://ec.europa.eu/trade/policy/in-focus/eu-vietnam-agreement/

For more tips on investing and trading in the EU, please contact the Business Cooperation Centre of Enterprise Europe Network Central China – Macao Office (EENCC Macao Office) at Tel: (853) 2871 3338, (853) 2872 7882/Fax: (853) 2871 3339/Email: info@ieem.org.mo

歐盟與越南簽訂貿易協議

歐盟於2019年6月30日在越南於河內簽訂一項具有重大意義的自由貿易協議(自貿協議),是歐盟與發展中國家簽署首項最進取的自由貿易協定。協議取消兩地之間接近所有(99%)的關稅。當自貿協議生效後,歐盟輸往越南商品的65%關稅將即時取消,其餘的關稅亦會於10年內逐步消除。至於越南輸往歐盟的商品,其中71%關稅於協議生效後取消,其餘將於7年內逐步消除。

自貿協議亦將減少與越南進行貿易所衍生的多項現有非關稅壁壘,並向歐盟公司開放越南服務業及公共採購市場。而投資保護協議(IPA)將加強保護歐盟在國內的投資。

作為「新一代」雙邊協議之一,歐盟–越南貿易協議亦載有關於知識產權保護、投資自由化及可持續發展等的重要條文。就此,自貿協議承諾會實施國際勞工組織的核心標準(如加入獨立工會的自由及禁止童工),以及例如有關打擊氣候轉變或保護生物多樣化等的聯合國公約。

歐盟與越南於2012年6月展開談判,並於2015年12月2日達成協議。然而,就歐盟-新加坡自由貿易協議,歐洲法院對歐盟及其成員國的職能劃分作出待定意見,歐盟與越南正式達成協議的程序也因而延後。

根據歐洲法院於2017年5月作出的意見,歐盟執行委員會決定提出兩項獨立的協議:

  • 一項自由貿易協議 – 由於其中涉及歐盟專屬權限的範疇,該自由貿易協議只需獲得歐洲理事會的批准及歐洲議會的同意便能生效。
  • 一項投資保護協議 – 由於性質涉及共同權限,該協議需在所有成員國完成相關的國家批准程序後才可生效,因此預期將需要更長的時間該協議才能得以實施。

越南是歐盟在東南亞國家聯盟(東盟)繼新加坡後的第二大貿易夥伴,每年貨物貿易總值接近500億歐元,服務貿易總額逹40億歐元。歐盟在越南的投資量維持中等,於2016年錄得約83億歐元,越來越多歐洲公司在越南設立並在湄公河一帶組成一個服務樞紐。歐盟從越南主要進口電訊設備、服裝及食物。歐盟出口越南的主要產品包括機器、交通設備、化學及農業產品。

Tin304_p14a

Tin304_p14b

資料來源:

如欲了解更多「歐盟知識產權」的資訊,請瀏覽﹕

http://ec.europa.eu/trade/policy/in-focus/eu-vietnam-agreement/

如欲查詢更多有關在歐盟國家投資及貿易的資訊,請與歐洲企業服務網絡華中中心–澳門辦事處聯絡,電話:(853)2871 3338, (853) 2872 7882 / 傳真: (853) 2871 3339 / 電郵: info@ieem.org.mo