Foreign Investment Screening‭: ‬new European framework to enter into force in April 2019

Foreign direct investment from third countries is a source of growth and jobs. However, in some cases, foreign investments may represent a risk for security or public order in Member States or in the whole Union. This could be the case for example when a foreign investor seeks to acquire control of European businesses whose activities affect critical technologies, infrastructure, inputs or sensitive information.

The companies controlled by third country investors are still small in number in the EU, but they have a significant economic impact because of their larger than average size and their focus on high-technology sectors. New investment trends are appearing with some emerging economies, playing an increasing role as providers of foreign direct investment. There are growing concerns in Europe about the impact that certain foreign acquisitions may have on security and public order.

The Council of the EU approved on 5 March a new framework to screen foreign direct investments coming into the European Union. The new framework will enter into force in April this year and will help safeguarding Europe’s security, public order and strategic interests when it comes to foreign investments into the Union.

The new framework:

• creates a cooperation mechanism where Member States and the Commission will be able to exchange information and raise concerns related to specific investments.

• allows the Commission to issue opinions when an investment threatens the security or public order of more than one Member State, or when an investment could undermine a project or programme of interest to the whole EU, such as Horizon 2020 or Galileo.

• encourages international cooperation on investment screening, including sharing experience, best practices and information on issues of common concerns.

• sets certain requirements for Member States who wish to maintain or adopt a screening mechanism at national level. Member States also keep the last word whether a specific investment operation should be allowed or not in their territory.

• takes into account the need to operate under short business-friendly deadlines and strong confidentiality requirements.

Background

Currently 14 Member States have national screening mechanisms in place. Although they differ in their design and scope, they share the same goal of preserving security and public order at national level. Several Member States are in the course of reforming their screening mechanisms, or adopting new ones.

The EU has one of the world’s most open investment regimes, as acknowledged by the OECD in its investment restrictiveness index. The EU is the main destination for foreign direct investment in the world: foreign direct investment stocks held by third country investors in the EU amounted to €6,295 billion at the end of 2017.

FDI, acronyms business concept Tin302_p15b

外國直接投資篩選:新歐盟框架於2019年4月生效

來自第三方國家的外國直接投資能帶動經濟增長及創造就業機會。然而,在某些情況下,外國投資會對成員國或整個歐盟的安全及公共秩序帶來風險。例如,在外國投資者試圖掌控會對重要科技、基建、信息及敏感資訊構成影響的歐洲商業活動。

目前歐盟內由第三方國家投資者控制的公司數目仍屬少數,但基於它們一般均大於平均規模同時集中發展高科技行業,因此帶來重要的經濟影響。新投資趨勢與一些新興經濟體同時湧現,成為與日俱進的外國直接投資來源。歐洲各國亦日益關注若干外國收購項目對國家的安全及公共秩序可能帶來的影響。

歐盟理事會於3月5日批准建立一個篩選進入歐盟的外國直接投資的新框架。新框架將於本年4月生效,在外商對歐盟國家作出直接投資方面,有助保障歐洲的安全、公共秩序及策略利益。

新框架:

• 設立合作機制,讓成員國及歐盟委員會可就具體投資項目互換信息及提出關注。
• 在某個投資項目威脅到多於一個成員國的安全或公共秩序;或某個投資項目可能損害另一項涉及整個歐盟利益的項目或計劃時,例如地平綫2020(Horizon 2020)或伽利略(Galileo),容許歐盟委員會提出意見。
• 鼓勵國際間合作篩選投資項目,包括就共同關注的議題分享經驗、良好作業方式及信息。
• 為有意在國內維持或設立篩選機制的成員國訂明若干規定。成員國對於是否批准在其境內進行個別投資運作亦有最終決定權。
• 須考慮需要在有利營商的短期期限下運作及遵守嚴格保密的要求。

背景

目前共有14個成員國在國內實施篩選機制。雖然各國有不同設計及範圍,但他們的機制同樣旨在維護國家的安全及公共秩序。多個成員國正就其篩選機制進行改革,或採用新的制度。

獲經濟合作及發展組織(OECD)的投資限制指數(investment restrictive index)認證,歐盟擁有全球其中一個最開放的投資制度。歐盟是全球外國直接投資的主要目的地,截至2017年年底,歐盟內由第三方國家投資者持有的外國直接投資股票總值共62,950億歐元。

FDI, acronyms business concept Tin302_p15b