The General Data Protection Regulations‭ (‬GDPR‭) ‬effective as of 25‭ ‬May 2018

The General Data Protection Regulations (GDPR) regulates the way businesses process and manage personal data. Effective as of 25 May 2018 and applicable to all businesses and organizations, it constitutes the biggest change to the EU’s data protection rules in over 20 years.

Not only does the GDPR give citizens more control over how their personal data is used, it also significantly streamlines the regulatory environment for businesses. The GDPR represents a new opportunity for businesses to improve personal data management and subsequently increase consumer trust in their business.

Who does the GDPR apply to?

The GDPR applies to any company processes and hold personal data of data subjects residing in the European Union, regardless of the company’s location. Even if the company processes data on behalf of other companies, it still needs to abide by the rules.

What are the benefits for businesses?

The reform provides clarity and consistency of the rules to be applied, and restores trust of consumer, thus allowing undertakings to seize fully the opportunities in the Digital Single Market. The data protection reform package helps the Digital Single Market realize this potential through:

One Union, one law: a single set of rules makes it simpler and cheaper for companies to do business in the EU

One-stop-shop: Companies will only have to deal with one single supervisory authority.

The same rules for all companies – regardless of where they are established: companies based outside of Europe have to apply the same rules when they offer goods or services on the EU market. This creates a level playing field.

Risk-based approach: the GDPR avoids a burdensome, one-size-fits-all obligation and instead tailors obligations to the respective risks.

Rules fit for innovation: the GDPR is Technology neutral.

How does the GDPR help reduce costs?

The GDPR aims to remove administrative requirements in order to reduce costs and minimize the administrative burden:

No more prior notifications: the reform scraps most prior notifications to supervisory authorities, along with their associated costs.

Data Protection Officers: companies mainly need to appoint a Data Protection Officer (DPO) if their core activities involve processing sensitive data on a large scale or involve the large-scale, regular and systematic monitoring of individuals. Public administrations have an obligation to appoint a DPO.

Data Protection Impact Assessments: companies are only obliged to carry out a Data Protection Impact Assessment if a proposed data processing activity involves a high risk to the rights and freedoms of individuals.

Record keeping: companies with less than 250 employees are not required to keep records unless the data processing is not incidental or involves sensitive information.

What penalties will there be for businesses if they break the new data protection rules?

The General Data Protection Regulation establishes a range of tools for enforcing the new rules, including penalties and fines. When it comes to deciding on an appropriate fine, each case will be carefully assessed and a range of factors will be taken into account:

  • the gravity/ duration of the violation;
  • the number of data subjects affected and level of damage suffered by them;
  • the intentional character of the infringement;
  • any actions taken to mitigate the damage;
  • the degree of co-operation with the supervisory authority.

The regulation sets two ceilings for fines if the rules are not respected. The first ceiling sets fines up to a maximum of €10 million or, in case of an undertaking, up to 2% of worldwide annual turnover. The higher ceiling of fines reaches up to a maximum of €20 million or 4% of worldwide annual turnover. Fines are adjusted according to the circumstances of each individual case.

Tin298_p15a Tin298_p15b Tin298_p15c

Source‭:‬

For more information and details regarding‭ ‬General Data Protection Regulation”,‭ ‬please visit the website at‭:‬

https://ec.europa.eu/commission/priorities/justice-and-fundamental-rights/data-protection/2018-reform-eu-data-protection-rules_en

For more tips on investing and trading in the EU‭, ‬please contact the Business Cooperation Centre of Enterprise Europe Network Central China‭ – ‬Macao Office‭ (‬EENCC Macao Office‭) ‬at Tel‭: ‬2871‭ ‬3338‭, ‬2872‭ ‬7882‭/‬Fax‭: ‬2871‭ ‬3339‭/‬Email‭: ‬info@ieem.org.mo

《一般資料保護法規》(GDPR)於2018年5月25日生效

《一般資料保護規例》(下稱《規例》)旨在規管企業處理和管理個人資料。《規例》自2018年5月25日起生效,適用於所有企業和團體,是二十多年來歐盟對資料保護規則作出的最大變動。

《規例》不僅讓公眾就如何使其個人資料有更大的控制權,同時亦大幅度精簡了商業監管環境。《規例》為商界帶來改善個人資料管理的機會,從而提升顧客對企業的信任。

《規例》的應用範圍?
不論公司的所在位置,《規例》適用於任何負責處理及存有居於歐盟的資料當事人個人資料的公司。即使該企業是代表其他公司處理相關資料,亦須遵守有關《規例》。

《規例》對商界帶來的裨益?
《規例》進一步釐清相關的監管規則,並提升規則的一致性,以重建消費者的信心,從而讓企業得以充分把握數碼單一市場的機遇。此資料保護改革方案有助數碼單一市場透過下述方式開拓潛能:
同一歐盟,同一法例:應用同一套規則讓企業可以更簡單地及以較低成本在歐盟市場營商。
「一站式」處理:企業只需受單一監管機構規管。
不管企業在何處設立,所有企業也受同一套規則規管﹕以歐洲境外為基地的企業在歐盟市場提供貨品及服務時也須遵守同樣的規定;藉此營造一個公平的競爭環境。
採用風險為本的方法:《規例》避免繁瑣及「一刀切」的做法;相反地,《規例》會按不同風險情況而特別擬訂不同的規則。
《規例》結合創新:《規例》屬於科技中立的措施。

《規例》如何減低成本?
《規例》旨在消除行政規定,以減省成本和降低行政負擔:
無需預先作出通知:有關改革取消了大部分須向監管機構作出事先通知的規定及相關費用。
資料保護主任:如果企業的核心業務涉及處理大量敏感資料,或大量、經常及有系統地對個人作出監察,該企業必須委聘一名資料保護主任。公共行政部門也有義務委聘資料保護主任。
資料保護影響評估:企業只需在擬進行的資料處理活動會對個人的權利及自由構成高風險的情況下,才需進行資料保護影響評估。
保存記錄:除非資料處理屬非偶爾進行或涉及敏感訊息,僱用少於250人的企業無需保存相關記錄。

企業如違反新資料保護規則,將會面對怎樣的懲罰?
為落實執行新規則,《一般資料保護規例》制訂了一系列的工具,其中包括罰則及罰款機制。有關方面會審慎評估及考慮一系列因素,以決定恰當的罰款額:

  • 違例行為的嚴重性/持續時間;
  • 受影響的資料當事人數目及其所受到的損害;
  • 違規行為是否涉及蓄意成分;
  • 有否採取任何行動以減輕損害;
  • 與監管機構的合作程度。

規則訂定違規的兩個最高罰款額。第一重最高罰款額為1,000萬歐羅;或企業全球全年營業額的2%。第二重罰款額上限為2,000萬歐羅,或相等於企業的全球全年營業額的4%。罰款額會按個別個案的實際情況作調整。

Tin298_p15a Tin298_p15b Tin298_p15c

資料來源:
如欲了解更多「一般資料保護規例」的資訊,請瀏覽﹕
https://ec.europa.eu/commission/priorities/justice-and-fundamental-rights/data-protection/2018-reform-eu-data-protection-rules_en

如欲查詢更多有關在歐盟國家投資及貿易的資訊,請與歐洲企業服務網絡華中中心–澳門辦事處 聯絡,電話:2871 3338, 2872 7882 / 傳真: 2871 3339 / 電郵: info@ieem.org.mo