Kingdom of Cambodia

Cambodia is located in southern Indochina in Southeast Asia, neighbouring Vietnam, Thailand and Laos. It covers an area of 181,035 square kilometres with Phnom Penh as the capital. As of July 2017, it has a population of 16,204,486, with only 21.2% being the urban population. There are around 1 million overseas Chinese in the country and the official language is Khmer.

As the political situation has stabilised over the past two to three decades, the government adopted the open and free market economy policies as well as the Rectangular Strategy for Growth, Employment, Equality and Efficiency (covering agriculture, infrastructure facilities, private economy and the development of human resources). The government actively promoted tourism development and successfully attracted investments from various countries and regions including Mainland China, Korea, Japan and Taiwan. It has not only become an emerging investment destination in Southeast Asia, but also growing into a developing country. Tourism, garment processing (clothing industry), construction and real estate, as well as agriculture are the four pillar industries, while the mining industry also attracted many overseas investors. Cambodia recorded remarkable economic growth from 2000 to 2010, with an average annual GDP growth of more than 8%, the average annual growth has been maintained at around 7% since 2011 and the economic growth in 2017 was recorded at 6.9% with a GDP of USD22.2 billion.

In 2016, Cambodia entered into double taxation agreements (DTAs) with Singapore and China respectively. In the same year, the accumulated inward direct foreign investment in Cabodia amounted to USD16.7 billion with projects mainly invested in the sectors of finance, manufacturing, real estate, agriculture, tourism, energy, transport and telecommunications. The service industry is the largest economic sector in the country and accounted for 41.9% of the GDP, the industrial sector (mainly garment, tourism and construction) and the agriculture industry represented 32.8% and 25.3% of the GDP respectively with the agriculture industry employing nearly half of the labour force in the country.

Being a country along the “Belt and Road”, there is huge potential for co-operation in various areas such as trade and economic between China and Cambodia. In 2017, trade volume between China and Cambodia totalled at USD5.79 billion, showing a 22% year-on-year growth. As of the end of 2017, contract work agreements in Cambodia signed by Chinese enterprises have accumulated to USD 17.54 billion, with completed business volume totalled at USD 11.08 billion. According to the statistical data of China, China’s non-financial direct investment in Cambodia in 2017 amounted to USD550 million, showing a 45% year-on-year increase. A Seminar on China-Cambodia Co-operation under the “Belt and Road” Initiative, organised by the East Asia Research Centre of the Cambodian Institute for Co-operation and Peace, was held in its capital Phnom Penh on 22 June 2017. In accordance with the agreement, being a member state of China-ASEAN Free Trade Area (CAFTA) and one of Asia’s Least Developed Country (LDC), Cambodia will reduce about 86% of its tariff levied on China-origin products to zero in 2018 from a simple average of 14.4% in 2005. Taking Chinese Shirts and T-shirts manufactured in as an example, the average tariff will be lowered to zero from 7% in 2005.

Meanwhile, there is also enormous room for co-operation in various areas between Macao and Cambodia which are both important hubs on the Maritime Silk Road. A SAR government delegation led by the Chief Executive of the Macao SAR Chui Sai On visited Cambodia, and following the signing of the “Memorandum of Understanding between Siem Reap Province of the Kingdom of Cambodia and the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China on the Establishment of Friendship Relation” earlier, the “Memorandum of Understanding between the Macao Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation of the Kingdom of Cambodia On Co-operation Framework for Promotion of Friendship” was signed with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Co-operation on 7 May 2018. The MOU aimed at strengthening strategic collaboration, co-ordinating and promoting co-operation in trade and economic, education, tourism, non-governmental exchanges, as well as fully utilising the abundant tourism resources on both sides, namely the World Heritage Sites of the Historic Centre of Macao and Angkor in Cambodia. The two sides will work together in the development of the “Belt and Road” Initiative and seek mutual development. The SAR government delegation also hosted a youth round-table session discussing opportunities arising from the “Belt and Road” Initiative, and encouraged the youth on both sides to strengthen liaisons and contribute to the collaboration between the two.

Resources‭

Mining resources included gold, phosphate, gemstone, oil and a small quantity of iron and coal. There are abundant forestry, fisheries resources and fruit trees. The country is rich in various types of bamboo and valuable tropical wood such as teak, iron wood, red sandalwood and rosewood. Timber reserves amounted to around 1.1 billion square metres. The Tonlé Sap in Cambodia is the largest natural freshwater fishery ground in Southeast Asia.

Industry

Industry is one of the major sectors to promote local economic development. The foundation of industrial development was weak and there was a lack of variety in industries. Major industries are garment processing, construction, rice milling, fishery processing, timber processing, rubber processing, cement manufacturing, gemstone mining and textiles. The free market economy implemented since the end of 1991 has already created employment for 500,000 Cambodian. Among which, garment industry dominates the industrial sector and becomes the leader in exports and foreign exchange as well as the mainstay of the economy. Major export countries are Canada, China, EU, Japan, Korea and the United States. There are currently 630 garment factories in the country and Cambodia has become one of the priority production bases for worldwide light industry such as garment industry due to its strengths of relatively low labour and land costs.

Agriculture

Cambodia is a traditional agricultural country with a total of 6.3 million hectares of arable land. Agricultural population accounted for 48.7% of the national labour force, major agricultural products are rice, rubber, corn, vegetables, cashew nuts, cassava and silk. According to the February 2018 report issued by the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, agricultural exports recorded an average annual growth of around 7% over the past five years, and an 11% increase in 2017 as compared with 2016, with an export volume of 2.83 million tonnes. Major agricultural exports listed in order are cassava (936,984 tonnes), rice (635,679 tonnes), corn (168,685 tonnes) and cassava flour (76,093 tonnes). Currently, the country aims to further improve the quality and standard of the agricultural products as well as enhancing efficiency and stability by releasing more land and implementing the contract farming system.

Tourism

Tourism accounted for nearly 20% of the GDP. Angkor is a world-renowned cultural heritage, attracting tourists from around the world. As such, the Cambodian government has been promoting the Open Sky Policy since 2000 and encouraged overseas airlines to operate direct flights to Phnom Penh and Angkor. According to the Cambodian tourism authority, the country has received 5.6 million tourists in 2017, an 11.6% increase as compared to the previous year. Among which, there were 1.2 million Mainland tourists, a year-on-year growth of 46% and China has become the largest country of origin. Currently, a total of 15 airlines (including three from Cambodia and 12 from China) provide flights between China and Cambodia, with 155 scheduled flight and 50 direct charter flights every week.

Foreign Trade

In September 2003, Cambodia became a member of the World Trade Organisation (WTO). According to the data from the Ministry of Commerce, Cambodia’s merchandise exports expanded by 17.9% to reach US$10.1 billion in 2016. Despite soaring costs driven in by US dollar appreciation and competition from other regional low-wage countries such as Myanmar and Bangladesh, Cambodia’s garment exports continued to expand by 8% in 2016, with the value of exports accounting for more than 70% of the country’s total. After EU has streamlined the Generalized System of Preferences (GSP) rules, Cambodian exports to the EU have grown rapidly since 2011. Under GSP, as a Least Developed Country (LDC), Cambodia exports to EU are exempted from duties as well as quota-free.

Main Economic Indicators 2017

Gross Domestic Product (US$billion) 22.25
Real GDP growth (%) 6.9
GDP per capita (US$) 4,000
Inflation (%) 3.7
Land area (sq km) 181.035
Population 16,204,486

Source: CIA-The World Factbook, 
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Main Trading Countries/Territories with Cambodia 2016

Main Destinations for Exports %
USA 21.3
UK  9.4
Germany  9.0
Japan  8.2
Canada  6.5
China  6.0
Thailand  4.2
Spain  4.0
Main Origin for Import %
China 35.3
Thailand 14.8
Vietnam 11.0
Singapore 4.4
Japan 4.1
Hong Kong 4.0

Source: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Foreign Trade In 2016 and 2017 ‭(‬unit‭: ‬US‭$ ‬billion‭)‬

Year Total Trade Exports Imports
2017 24.790 10.450 14.340
2016 21.883 9.233 12.650

Major Export Commodities: clothing‭, ‬timber‭, ‬rubber‭, ‬rice‭, ‬fish‭, ‬tobacco‭, ‬footwear

Main Import Commodities: petroleum products‭, ‬cigarettes‭, ‬gold‭, ‬construction materials‭, ‬machinery‭, ‬motor vehicles‭, ‬pharmaceutical products

Source:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

Mainland China-Myanmar Import & Export ‭(‬unit‭: ‬US‭$ ‬billion‭)‬

Year Total Exports Imports
2016 47.60 27.2 5.6

Source: Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

Macao- Myanmar Bilateral Trade In 2017

Type of Trade Weight (KG) Patacas
Imports 746,229 24,096,281
Exports 69,324 74,618,357

Source: The Macao Statistics and Census Service, http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

SOURCE
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

The Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

The Economic and Commercial Counselor’s Office of the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Republic of the Union of Myanmar
http://co.mofcom.gov.cn/

The Statistics and Census Service
http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

The World Factbook
http://www.cia.gov/

http://www.cambodiakingdom.com/

柬埔寨王國

位於東南亞中南半島南部,與越南、泰國和老撾毗鄰。面積181,035平方公里,首都金邊。人口16,204,486(截至2017年
7月),城市人口僅佔總人口的21.2%,華僑華人約100萬人。官方語言為柬埔寨語(又稱高棉語)。

近二、三十年來,隨著政局逐步穩定,政府實施對外開放和自由市場經濟政策,推動以增長、就業、公平、效率為核心的國家發展「四角戰略」(涵蓋農業、基礎設施建設、私人經濟和人力資源開發),大力推動旅遊業發展,成功吸引中國內地、韓國、日本及台灣等國家和地區前往投資,不僅發展成為東南亞新興的投資熱點之一,更發展成為一個新興的發展中國家,形成旅遊業、服裝加工業(製衣業)、建築和房地產業以及農業四大經濟支柱,此外,當地各種採礦業亦吸引了眾多海外投資者的青睞。2000年至2010年期間,柬埔寨經濟增長強勁,國民生產總值年均增長超過8%,2011年至今年均增長保持在7%左右,2017年經濟增速為6.9%,GDP達222億美元。

2016年柬埔寨分別與新加坡和中國簽署避免雙重徵稅協定。同年,流入柬埔寨的累計外商直接投資額達167億美元,主要投資在銀行金融、製造、房地產、農業、旅遊、能源、運輸及電訊等領域。服務業是柬埔寨最大經濟產業,佔國內生產總值41.9%,工業佔32.8%(主要是製衣、旅遊及建造業),農業則佔25.3%,並僱用全國接近一半的勞動力。

作為「一帶一路」沿線國家,中國與柬埔寨在經貿等各個領域蘊藏著巨大合作潛力。2017年,中柬雙邊貿易額57.9億美元,同比增長22%。截至2017年底,中國企業在柬累計簽訂承包工程合同額175.4億美元,完成營業額110.8億美元。中方統計,2017年中國對柬非金融類直接投資5.5億美元,同比增長45%。2017年6月22日,由柬埔寨合作與和平研究院東亞研究中心主辦的「一帶一路」倡議下的中柬合作研討會在首都金邊舉行。作為中國-東盟自由貿易區(CAFTA)成員國和亞洲低度開發國家之一,根據協定,到2018年中國對柬埔寨出口的產品,約86%稅目的簡單平均關稅率應由2005年的14.4% 降減至零,比如以中國製襯衫及T恤衫為例,平均進口關稅率應由2005年的7%下調至零。

與此同時,同屬海上絲綢之路重要節點的澳門與柬埔寨,同樣在諸多領域擁有廣闊的合作空間。為此,2018年5月7日,澳門特區行政長官崔世安率領特區政府代表團訪問柬埔寨,繼早前簽署《澳門特別行政區與柬埔寨王國暹粒省締結友好關係諒解備忘錄》後,又與柬埔寨外交與國際合作部簽署《中華人民共和國澳門特別行政區與柬埔寨王國外交與國際合作部推動友好合作框架諒解備忘錄》,旨在加強兩地戰略性合作,統籌推進經貿、教育、旅遊、民間交往等領域的合作,充分利用兩地旅遊資源豐富,分別擁有澳門歷史城區和柬埔寨吳哥窟等世界文化遺產的優勢,攜手參與「一帶一路」建設,實現共同發展;與此同時,特區政府代表團還以牢牢抓住「一帶一路」機遇為主題舉辦「澳柬兩地青年領袖圓桌會議」,勉勵兩地青年加強交流溝通,促進「民心相通」,為兩地合作貢獻智慧。

資源

礦藏主要有金、磷酸鹽、寶石、石油和少量鐵、煤。林業、漁業、果木資源豐富。盛產貴重柚木、鐵木、紫檀、黑檀等熱帶林木以及多種竹類。木材儲量約11億多立方米。洞裡薩湖是東南亞最大的天然淡水漁場,素有「魚湖」之稱。

工業

工業是推動當地經濟發展的支柱產業之一,但工業基礎薄弱,門類十分單調,主要包括服裝加工、建築、大米加工、漁業加工、木材加工、橡膠加工、水泥生產、寶石開採以及紡織業等。1991年底以來實行的自由市場經濟已為50萬名柬埔寨國民創造了就業機會。其中,製衣業佔據了工業主導地位和出口創匯龍頭地位,成為當地的重要經濟支柱,主要出口市場為美國、歐盟、加拿大、日本、韓國和中國。目前,全國共有630多家製衣廠,憑藉相對低廉的勞動力和土地成本,柬埔寨已成為全球製衣等輕工業的首選生產基地之一。

農業

傳統農業國家,擁有可耕地面積630萬公頃。農業人口佔全國勞動人口的48.7%,主要農產品包括大米、橡膠、玉米、蔬菜、腰果、木薯以及絲綢等。根據柬埔寨農林漁業部農業總局2018年2月份報告,過去5年該國農產品出口每年平均增長約7%,2017年較2016年增長11%,出口量逾283萬噸,主要出口農產品依序為:木薯(936,984噸)、稻米(635,679噸)、玉米(168,685噸)以及木薯粉(76,093噸)。目前該國正透過契約農作制度以及釋放足夠土地等政策進一步提高農產品品質,增進效率與穩定度。

旅遊業

旅遊業佔國民生產總值近20%,吳哥古跡是聞名於世的世界文化遺產,吸引全球各地遊客慕名前往。為此自2000年起,柬政府大力推行「開放天空」政策,支持鼓勵外國航空公司開闢直飛金邊和吳哥窟遊覽區航線。據當地旅遊部門統計,2017年全國共接待外國遊客560萬人次,同比增長11.6%,其中中國遊客達120萬人次,同比增長46%,成為柬第一大旅遊客源國。目前當地共15家航空公司(其中柬埔寨3家,中國12家)開闢了往返中國-柬埔寨航班,每週設155個定期航班和50個直飛包機航班。

對外貿易

2003年9月,柬加入世界貿易組織。根據柬埔寨商務部的數據,2016年柬埔寨商品出口增長17.9%,達101億美元。雖然美元升值令成本增加,以及緬甸和孟加拉等區內其他低工資國家競爭十分激烈,柬埔寨的成衣出口於2016年仍增長8%,佔全國出口總額逾70%。歐盟簡化普及特惠稅制後,來自柬埔寨的出口自2011年起迅速增長。因此在普惠制下,柬埔寨屬於低度開發國家,其產品出口到歐盟享有免關稅待遇,亦不受配額限制。

二零一七年主要經濟指標

本地生產總值(十億美元) 22.25
本地生產總值實際增長率(百分比) 6.9
人均生產總值(美元) 4,000
人均生產總值(美元) 3.7
土地面積(平方公里) 181.035
人口 16,204,486

資料來源: CIA-The World Factbook, 
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

2016年柬埔寨主要貿易國家/地區

主要出口目的地 %
美國 21.3
英國  9.4
德國  9.0
日本  8.2
加拿大  6.5
中國  6.0
泰國  4.2
西班牙  4.0
主要入口來源地 %
中國 35.3
泰國 14.8
越南 11.0
新加坡 4.4
日本 4.1
香港 4.0

資料來源: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

2016、2017年對外貿易 (單位:十億美元)

年份 進出口總額 出口總額 進口總額
2017 24.790 10.450 14.340
2016 21.883 9.233 12.650

主要出口產品: 服裝、木材、橡膠、大米、水產、煙草以及鞋履

主要進口產品: 石油產品、香煙、黃金、建築材料、機械、機動車輛、醫藥產品

資料來源:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

中國與柬埔寨進出口貿易統計 (單位:十億美元)

年份 進出口總額 出口總額 進口總額
2016 47.60 27.2 5.6

資料來源:中華人民共和國商務部, http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

2017年澳門與柬埔寨雙邊貿易

貿易類別 重量(公斤) 澳門元
進口 746,229 24,096,281
出口 69,324 74,618,357

資料來源:澳門統計暨普查局, http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

資料來源
中華人民共和國外交部網站
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

中華人民共和國商務部網站
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

中華人民共和國駐柬埔寨王國大使館經濟商務參贊處網站
http://co.mofcom.gov.cn/

澳門特別行政區政府統計暨普查局網站
http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

世界概況網站
http://www.cia.gov/

http://www.cambodiakingdom.com/