Doing Business in Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is one of the most successful transition economies in terms of attracting foreign direct investment. Over 130,000 Czech firms across all sectors are supported by foreign capital. Czech Republic is ranked 30 among 190 economies in the ease of doing business, according to the latest World Bank annual ratings.

The country possesses a well-educated workforce, advanced transport networks in Central and Eastern Europe, smooth business procedures, openness to international ownership and preferential policy for SME.

General review

The Czech Republic has been a member of the EU since May 2004, and has adopted the EU’s common external trade policy and measures. Its accession to the European Union in 2004 and the amendments to the investment-incentives legislation have further boosted investment. Since the 1990s the Czech Republic has welcomed numerous investors in various industries. Industries such as automotive, high-tech mechanical engineering, nanotechnology and advanced materials, aerospace, life sciences, ICT, business support services, pharmaceuticals and energy and environment are considered targeted sectors to stimulate the economic growth in the country.

Key Competitive Advantages

The Czech Republic is an attractive location for investment with the following reasons.
• Location in the centre of Europe, gateway to both eastern and western markets, less than two hours by air from most European destinations
• Creative, experienced and internationalized professionals at lower costs
• High degree of entrepreneurship and good conditions for doing business (above average within EU27)
• Regulatory and patent environment in accordance with EU standards
• One of the world’s most attractive places to live
• GDP per person by purchasing power parity – the highest in Central and Eastern Europe
• Well-developed infrastructure

Investment Incentives

Based on the Act No. 72/2000 Coll., investors who place or expand their investments in the Czech Republic can recieve support in the form of investment incentives. The Czech Republic offers both new and existing investors investment incentives and business support through several schemes. Investment incentives are available not only to investors launching or expanding production, but also to technological centres and strategic service centres.

Supported Areas

• Manufacturing Industry – implantation or expansion of production according to economic activity classification
• Technology Centres – construction or expansion of centres focused on research, development and innovation of advanced products, technologies and production processes; intended for use in production
• Business Support Services Centres – start or expansion of operations (shared-services centres, software development centres, high-tech repair centres, data centres and customer support centres (call centres)

Forms of Investment Incentives

• Corporate Income Tax – Tax Relief for 10 years
• Cash Grant for job Creation, up to CZK 300,000 per job
• Cash grants Training and retraining, up to 50% of training costs for
• Cash Grants for purchase of fixed assets, up to 10% of Eligible costs

Taxation system

The current tax system in the Czech Republic was established in 1993. Taxes are divided into 3 basic groups – direct taxes, indirect taxes and other taxes. Since EU accession on 1 May 2004, the system has undergone a continuous process of harmonization with European legislation. The Czech Republic also has a broad network of double taxation treaties with both EU and non-EU countries. These double taxation treaties are based mainly on the OECD Model Tax Convention.

As from 1 January 2010, the standard corporate tax rate is 19%. A special tax rate of 5% is applied to certain collective investment funds and pension funds. Withholding taxes on income of non-residents 35/15/0%, according the type, the withholding tax rates may be reduced by double tax treaties.
Personal income is subject to a flat tax rate of 15%. The tax base for employees is calculated as the gross salary increased by the employer’s health insurance and social security contributions.

Source:

For more information and details regarding “Doing business in Czech Republic”, please visit the website at: https://www.czechinvest.org/en

For more tips on investing and trading in the EU, please contact the Business Cooperation Centre of Enterprise Europe Network Central China – Macao Office (EENCC Macao Office) at Tel: 2871 3338, 2872 7882/Fax: 2871 3339/Email: info@ieem.org.mo

nevim Tin295_p15b Tin295_p15c

在捷克共和國營商

縱觀全球,捷克共和國在吸引外商直接投資方面是其中一個最成功的轉型經濟體,有超過十三萬家企業獲得外資支持。根據世界銀行最新的年度評分,捷克的營商便捷度在190個經濟體當中排名30。

捷克對外資持開放態度,其勞動人口擁有良好的教育背景,國內先進的交通網絡連接歐洲中部和東部,更配有流暢的營商程序以及支持中小企業的優惠政策。

概覽

捷克自2004年5月開始成為歐盟成員,並採用歐盟的共同對外貿易政策和措施。捷克加入歐盟以及對投資優惠政策的修訂,進一步帶動了投資增長。自九十年代起,捷克已吸納了大量的投資者在不同的領域投資。汽車業、高階機械工程、納米科技,先進材料、航天、生命科學、資訊及通訊科技、商業支援服務、製藥,能源和環保業等,均被視為刺激國內經濟增長的重點行業。

競爭優勢

捷克在投資方面的優勢如下:

位處歐洲中心,是通往東、西歐市場的樞紐,絕大多數歐洲國家均在兩小時航程範圍內
• 擁有國際化的人才隊伍,創意與經驗兼備,而且勞動成本相對低廉
• 創業比例高,具有優質的營商環境(在歐盟27國當中屬中上水平)
• 監管環境和專利的法規遵從歐盟標準
• 獲評世界上最宜居的地點之一
• 按購買力平價計算的人均國內生產總值(GDP)在歐洲中部及東部位列首位
• 基礎設施完善

投資優惠

根據第72/2000 Coll號法案,任何在捷克投放資金或加大其投資額的投資者,可以投資獎勵的形式享有投資優惠。捷克透過多個方案為新入場以及和現有投資者提供投資優惠和商業支援。投資優惠不單止針對投資者新設生產線或加大生產力,範圍更涵蓋投資者開設或擴充技術中心和策略服務中心等。

優惠範圍

• 製造業:開設廠房或加大生產力(須視乎經濟活動的種類)
• 技術中心:建設或擴充專門開發和革新先進產品、技術和生產流程,並把科研成果轉化為生產力的中心
• 商務支援服務中心:開設或擴充業務(共享服務中心、軟件開發中心,高科技維修中心,數據中心和顧客支援中心《客服中心》)。

投資優惠形式

• 公司所得稅 – 十年的稅務優
• 為每個創造的職位提供三十萬捷克克朗的現金津貼
• 培訓及再就業培訓現金補助,高達培訓費的百分之五十
• 購買固定資產現金補貼,高達合資格成本的百分之十

稅務制度

捷克現行的稅務制度源於1993年,稅制基本分為3個組別 – 直接稅、間接稅和其他稅項。自2004年5月1日加入歐盟以來,該稅制不斷與歐盟體系接軌。捷克與眾多歐盟和非歐盟國家廣泛建立了雙重課稅協定,這些協定主要是根據經濟合作暨發展組織稅務公約(OECD Model Tax Convention)而訂定的。

自2010年1月1日起,企業所得稅的標準稅率為19%,5%的特別稅率適用於特定的集體投資基金和退休基金。非國民的收入預繳稅率按不同類型分別為35%、15%、0%,而預繳稅率可能會因應雙邊稅務協定而降低。

個人所得稅劃一為15%,僱員的稅基是以其總收入加上僱主提供的醫療保險和社會保障供款來計算。

資料來源:
如欲了解更多「在捷克營商」的資訊,請瀏覽: https://www.czechinvest.org/cn
如欲查詢更多有關在歐盟國家投資及貿易的資訊,請與歐洲企業服務網絡華中中心–澳門辦事處 聯絡,電話:2871 3338, 2872 7882 / 傳真: 2871 3339 / 電郵: info@ieem.org.mo

nevim Tin295_p15b Tin295_p15c