The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA)

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA) is located on the Arabian Peninsula. It borders Persian Gulf on the east, the Red Sea on the west, as well as countries including Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Oman, the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Yemen. It covers an area of 2,149,690 square kilometres, being the second largest country in the Arab world after Algeria. It has a population of 32,400,000 (2017). The capital is Riyadh and Arabic as the official language.

Oil is the mainstay of the economy and the government is in control of the major economic activities. Being the world’s second-largest country with proven oil reserves after Canada, it is not only the world’s largest oil exporting country, but also the major member state of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) and the only Arabic country in the Group of Twenty. The revenue from the Oil industry amounted to 89% of the total national revenue, 43% of the GDP and 90% of the export revenue. Service industry and agriculture accounted for 55% and 2% of the GDP respectively.

After its accession to the World Trade Organisation (WTO) in December 2005, Saudi has benefited from the escalating international oil prices. The ample revenue from oil export maintains relatively rapid economic growth. The government shows immense support in developing and enhancing domestic infrastructure and production facilities, increases the input in infrastructural facilities, healthcare and education, as well as accelerating development of economic diversity, the “Saudisation” programme and economic privatization. The government is keen on the development of non-oil industries such as mining and light industry and also encourages agriculture, fisheries and animal husbandry industries, as well as actively attracting foreign investment and protect national economy.

Due to the collapse of crude oil prices in 2014, Saudi experienced its first budget deficit in 2014 and the government aimed for the initial public offering of its state-owned oil company in 2018. The “Saudi Vision 2030” also proposed to liberalise privately-owned industries such as education and medical, as well as encouraging development of the tourism and entertainment industry. Tourism, arms-manufacturing and mining are identified as industries with huge potentials, and the government converted 10% of the major power sources as renewal energy and actively attract foreign investment and encouraged development of private sector and reduce national economy’s dependence on oil export.

In 2016, Saudi’s accumulated foreign direct investment (FDI) amounted to USD231.5 billion, a rise of 31.3% as compared to 2010. According to the information of the Ministry of Commerce, China’s accumulated FDI in Saudi had increased from USD760.6 million in 2010 to USD 2.4 billion as of the end of 2016. In 2017, due to the weakness of the oil prices worldwide and the fall of oil production capacity, Saudi’s GDP has drastically fall from 4.1% in 2015 to 1.4% in 2016.

Resources
Proven crude oil reserves amounted to 36.2 billion tonnes, accounted for 16% of the world’s total reserves and ranks second worldwide. Natural gas reserves totaled to 29.1 billion square feet and ranks the fifth in the world. Saudi also possesses mineral reserves of gold, copper, iron, tin, aluminium, zinc and phosphate. It is also the world’s largest producer of desalinated water, with a desalination capacity accounted for around 20% of the world total output.

Industries
Oil and petrochemical industries are the mainstay of the economy. Oil revenues accounted for more than 70% of the national fiscal revenues and 42% of the GDP. In recent years, the government made full use of its abundant oil and natural gas resources and actively introduced advanced technology and facilities from overseas, and made vigorous efforts in developing non-oil industries such as the steel, aluminium refining, cement, desalination, power, agriculture and service industries, thus brought changes to the monotonous economic structure relying on the oil industry.

Agriculture
Seventy percent of Saudi’s land is semi-arid uncultivated land or low-grade grassland, 3.45 million hectares of arable land accounted for only 1.6% of the total land area. Permanent grassland accounted for 3.785 million hectares equivalent to 1.9% of the total land area. Forest coverage is low covering only 1.4% of the total land area. The distribution of agricultural land mainly concentrated in southwestern area with relatively ample rainfall. Currently major agricultural products are wheat, corn, date palm, citrus fruits, grapes and pomegranate. The self-sufficiency ratio of cereal is low and imports accounted for nearly 80% of the domestic demand. Saudi is the largest importing country of barley with an annual average import of 6 million tonnes. Fruits supply can meet 60% of the domestic demand. Animal husbandry mainly include sheep, goat and camel.

Finance
Saudi’s banking industry is well developed. Most of the banks are making profits with 8% net profit growth. There are 10 commercial banks, among which, 3 are local banks namely the National Commercial Bank, Riyad Bank and Al Rajhi Bank, while others are joint ventures.

Foreign Trade
Saudi adopts free trade and low tariff policy. Exports are mainly oil and oil products, amounted to 90% of total exports. The export of petrochemical and certain industrial products are growing. Imports are mainly consumer goods such as mechanical equipment, food products, textiles as well as petrochemical products. Major trade partners are China, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Korea, UAE and US. Saudi records long-term foreign trade surplus due to the massive amount of oil exports.

 

Main Economic Indicators 2016

Gross Domestic Product (US$ Trillion) 6,464
Real GDP growth (%) 1.7
GDP per capita (US$) 20,150
Inflation (%) 3.5
Land area (sq km) 2,149,690
Population (Million) 32,400,000

Source: CIA-The World Factbook,
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Main Trading Countries / Territories with Egypt 2015

Main Destinations for Exports %
China 13.6
Japan 11.3
India 10.7
US 9.8
South Korea 9.1
UK 4.7
Main Origin for Import %
China 16.2
US 15
Germany 6.3
Japan 5.3
UAE 5
South Korea 4.3

Source: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

Foreign Trade In 2015 and 2016 (unit: US$ Billion)

Year Total Trade Exports Imports
2016 311.4 183.6 127.8
2015 362.8 203.5 159.3

Major Export Commodities: Commodities: petroleum and petroleum products 90%

Main Import Commodities: machinery and equipment, foodstuffs, chemicals, motor vehicles, textiles

Source:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

Mainland China-Saudi Arabia (unit: US$ billion)

Year Total Exports Imports
2016 42.36 18.75 23.61

Source: Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China, http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

Macao-Saudi Arabia Bilateral Trade 2016

Type of Trade Weight (KG) Patacas
Imports 53,771,030 331,524,000
Exports 10,679 2,207,716

Source: The Macao Statistics and Census Service,http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

SOURCE
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

The Ministry of Commerce of the People’s Republic of China
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

The Economic and Commercial Counselor’s Office of the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Republic of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
http://sa.mofcom.gov.cn/

The Statistics and Census Service
http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

The World Factbook
http://www.cia.gov/

https://www.saudi.gov.sa/wps/portal/snp

沙特阿拉伯王國

位於中東阿拉伯半島。東瀕波斯灣,西臨紅海,與約旦、伊拉克、科威特、阿聯酋、阿曼、也門等國接壤。面積約2,149,690平方公里,是阿拉伯世界中地理面積第二大的國家,僅次於阿爾及利亞。人口32,400,000(2017年)。首都利雅德(Riyadh),官方語言為阿拉伯語。

經濟以石油為支柱,政府控制著國家主要的經濟活動。作為繼加拿大之後世界第二大已探明石油之儲備國,不僅是全球最大的石油出口國,也是石油輸出國組織的主要成員國和唯一一個二十國集團中的阿拉伯國家。石油產業(工業)收入佔全國總收入的89%、GDP的43%以及出口收入的90%;服務業及農業分別佔GDP的55%以及2%。

2005年12月正式加入世界貿易組織以來,沙特受益於國際油價攀升,石油出口收入豐厚,經濟保持較快增長。政府大力建設並改造國內基礎設施和生產設施,加大基建、衛生、教育等領域投入,加快推進經濟結構多元化、勞動力沙特化和經濟私有化,努力發展採礦和輕工業等非石油產業,鼓勵發展農業、漁業和畜牧業,積極吸引外資,保護民族經濟。

由於2014年原油價格暴跌導致該國首次出現預算赤字,政府決定讓一直以來的國營石油公司於2018年上市,並在「2030願景」中提出開放教育、醫療等私有產業,鼓勵旅遊業和娛樂產業發展,將旅遊、軍工製造及採礦認定為潛力巨大的行業,將10%的主要電力來源轉移為可再生能源,同時積極吸引外商投資,鼓勵私有經濟發展,減少國家經濟對石油出口的依賴。

2016年,沙特累計外商直接投資達2,315億美元,較2010年增加31.3%。根據中國商務部資料,截至2016年底,中國對沙特累計直接投資額由2010年7.606億美元增加至24億美元。2017年,全球油價偏軟,產油量下跌,沙特國內生產總值(GDP)增長由2015年的4.1%大幅下跌至2016年的1.4%。

資源
原油探明儲量362億噸,約佔全球儲量的16%,居世界第二位。天然氣儲量291萬億立方英尺,居世界第五位。此外,還擁有金、銅、鐵、錫、鋁、鋅、磷酸鹽等礦藏。同時也是世界上最大的淡化海水生產國,其海水淡化量佔世界總量的20%左右。

工業
石油和石化工業是經濟命脈,石油收入佔國家財政收入的70%以上,佔國內生產總值的42%。近年來,政府充分利用本國豐富的石油、天然氣資源,積極引進國外的先進技術設備,大力發展鋼鐵、煉鋁、水泥、海水淡化、電力工業、農業和服務業等非石油產業,依賴石油的單一經濟結構有所改觀。

農業
70%的面積為半乾旱荒地或低級草場,可耕地面積僅佔土地面積的1.6%,約345萬公頃。永久性草地約378.5萬公頃,佔土地面積的1.9%。森林覆蓋率很低,林地面積只佔全部土地的1.4%,耕地集中分佈在降雨量較充沛的西南部地區。目前主要農產品有:小麥、玉米、椰棗、柑橘、葡萄、石榴等。穀物自給率較低,近80%依靠進口滿足國內需求。沙特是世界上最大的大麥進口國,年均進口約600萬噸。水果自給率達到60%。畜牧業主要有綿羊、山羊、駱駝等。

財政金融
沙特銀行業發展良好,絕大多數銀行實現盈利,淨利潤增長8%。商業銀行主要有10家,其中國民銀行、利雅德銀行和拉吉希金融投資公司3家為本國銀行,其餘為合資銀行。

對外貿易
實行自由貿易和低關稅政策。出口以石油和石油產品為主,佔出口總額的90%,石化及部分工業產品的出口量也在逐漸增加。進口主要是機械設備、食品、紡織等消費品和化工產品。主要交易夥伴為美國、中國、日本、韓國、印度、阿聯酋、德國、意大利等。由於大量出口石油,對外貿易長期順差。

 

二零一六年主要經濟指標

本地生產總值(億美元) 6,464
本地生產總值實際增長率(百分比) 1.7
人均生產總值(美元) 20,150
通賬率(百分比) 3.5
土地面積(平方公里) 2,149,690
人口(百萬) 32,400,000

資料來源: CIA-The World Factbook,
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

2015年沙特阿拉伯主要貿易國家/地區

主要出口目的地 %
中國 13.6
日本 11.3
印度 10.7
美國 9.8
韓國 9.1
新加坡 4.7
主要入口來源地 %
中國 16.2
美國 15
德國 6.3
日本 5.3
阿聯酋 5
韓國 4.3

資料來源: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

2015、2016年對外貿易(單位:十億美元)

年份 進出口總額 出口總額 進口總額
2016 311.4 183.6 127.8
2015 362.8 203.5 159.3

主要出口產品: 原油及90%的石油產品

主要進口產品: 機械和工具、食品、化學製品、機動車及紡織品。

資料來源:

1.CIA-The World Factbook, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook

2.Index Mundi-Country Fact, http://www.indexmundi.com

中國與沙特阿拉伯進出口貿易統計(單位:十億美元)

年份 進出口總額 出口總額 進口總額
2016 42.36 18.75 23.61

資料來源:澳門統計暨普查局,http://mds.mofcom.gov.cn/article/Nocategory/

2016年澳門與沙特阿拉伯雙邊貿易

貿易類別 重量(公斤) 澳門元
進口 53,771,030 331,524,000
出口 10,679 2,207,716

資料來源: 澳門統計暨普查局,http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

資料來源
中華人民共和國外交部網站
http://www.fmprc.gov.cn/chn/default.htm

中華人民共和國商務部網站
http://zhs.mofcom.gov.cn/

中華人民共和國駐沙特阿拉伯王國大使館經濟商務參贊處網站
http://sa.mofcom.gov.cn/

澳門特別行政區政府統計暨普查局網站
http://www.dsec.gov.mo/

世界概況網站
http://www.cia.gov/

https://www.saudi.gov.sa/wps/portal/snp