THE RISE OF CHARLESTRONG ENGINEERING SHOWS HOW MACAO CAN DO BUSINESS IN THE PORTUGUESE-SPEAKING COUNTRIES.

Economic dealings between Mainland China and the Portuguese-speaking Countries have developed rapidly in recent years with many Mainland Chinese or Macao companies investing in infrastructure projects in Portuguese-speaking Countries.

Charlestrong Engineering Technology and Consulting (Macau) Ltd is one such company. It is investing in resort and housing projects in East Timor and Mozambique. Company Chairman Charles Shi tells Macao Image in an interview that this can enhance economic exchanges between Mainland China and the Portuguese-speaking Countries, while strengthening Macao’s position as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries.

Jobs on offer 

Founded in 2012, Charlestrong engages in real estate development, construction engineering, the sale of building materials and technical consultancy in Macao, in Portuguese-speaking Countries such as East Timor and Mozambique, and in other African countries such as Zambia.

The company has an agreement with the Housing Development Fund of Mozambique to build 35,000 affordable homes in the Mozambican provinces of Nampula, Tete and Maputo, which are meant to ease the country’s housing problem. The project is due to be completed in 2019.

Charlestrong is also in charge of expanding a resort club in the Special Administrative Region of Oecusse in East Timor. Mr Shi says the development will have “the best dining offerings, services and living conditions in Oecusse”. Construction is due to begin in January 2017 and Mr Shi expects the project to be completed in May that year. The company will manage the venue for five years after that.

Charlestrong’s projects in East Timor and Mozambique will make use of the world’s most advanced technology and building materials, and most of the materials are being imported from Mainland China, Mr Shi says. Projects can increase Mainland China’s exports and increase employment in the two countries, where construction workers will quickly learn new skills.

The projects mean Macao can play a greater role as a place where Mainland China and Portuguese-speaking Countries can do business, as envisaged by the Macao SAR Government policy of making Macao a Commercial and Trade Service Co-operation Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries.

Bright future

The head office of the China and Portuguese-speaking Countries Co-operation and Development Fund will move to Macao, and Mr Shi says this shows that the central government attaches great importance to Macao’s function as a place where Mainland China and the Portuguese-speaking Countries can do business. He hopes the move will make more money available to Macao companies that wish to take opportunities provided in Portuguese-speaking Countries. With the support of financial institutions, Macao companies can build up their business in the Portuguese-speaking Countries.

Charlestrong regularly takes part in the International Infrastructure Investment and Construction Forum and in the Macao International Trade and Investment Fair (MIF). Mr Shi says his company’s attendance is worthwhile, since the events draw the attention of the authorities in Portuguese-speaking Countries to his company. He is grateful that IPIM actively recommends Macao companies for projects in Portuguese-speaking Countries.

Among the Portuguese-speaking Countries, East Timor is where the prospects of Charlestrong building up its business are brightest, Mr Shi says. He says his company is endeavouring to get a contract to build housing for East Timorese civil servants. Investment in infrastructure in Guinea-Bissau was the subject of recent talks between officials of that country and representatives of Charlestrong.

Mr Shi says economic co-operation between Mainland China and Portuguese-speaking Countries will increase, because many Macao companies would like to take the opportunities offered by the city playing its role as a place where Mainland China and Portuguese-speaking Countries can do business. “There is just a bright future for the development of the ties between Mainland China and Portuguese-speaking Countries,” he says.

Nicky Ho says the shop wants to make furniture that is durable and environment friendly

Nicky Ho says the shop wants to make furniture that is durable and environment friendly

查里斯通(澳門)工程的拓展,顯示了澳門企業如何在葡語國家開展業務。

近年,中國與葡語國家經貿交流日漸頻繁,不少中國或澳門企業在葡語國家投資基礎建設項目,當中包括查里斯通(澳門)工程技術與顧問有限公司,在東帝汶及莫桑比克分別投資興建酒店渡假村和經濟房屋項目。查里斯通董事長史力強接受本刊訪問時表示,這一方面能夠推動中葡貿易往來,另一方面加強澳門的中葡商貿服務平台作用。

勞動力市場

查里斯通於2012年在澳門註冊成立,主要從事房地產開發、工程施工、建築材料經銷及技術諮詢等領域,業務遍佈澳門、莫桑比克、東帝汶及贊比亞等葡語國家和非洲國家。

該公司早前與莫桑比克房屋發展基金(FFH)簽訂合作諒解備忘錄,在當地楠普拉、太特和馬普托等多個省份興建3.5萬套經濟房屋,解決當地住房問題,項目將於2019年落成。

此外,在東帝汶歐庫西特別行政區,查里斯通負責擴建當地一個酒店度假村,史力強指出要把項目打造成「歐庫西中最好的餐飲、服務和居住條件的酒店渡假村」,預計於2017年1月初動工,並於同年5月完工,建成後查里斯通負責該項目管理,為期五年。

史力強表示,他們在兩個葡語國家的工程所採用的技術及建築材料是世界上最先進的,大部分建築材料從中國內地進口,工程既可拉動內地的外貿出口,也能增加這兩個國家的就業機會,在短時間內為當地培訓一批具有技能的建築工人。

這些項目標誌著配合特區政府把澳門構建成為「中國與葡語國家商貿合作服務平台」的目標,澳門在促進中國與葡語國家開展業務方面,可以發揮更大的作用。

前景光明

隨著中葡合作發展基金總部將落戶澳門,史力強表示,這顯示中央政府十分重視澳門促進中葡商貿合作的角色,冀望能夠為在葡語國家投資的澳門企業提供更充裕的資金。在金融機構支持下,令澳門企業能在當地逐步建立業務。

查里斯通恆常地參與「國際基礎設施投資與建設高峰論壇」以及「澳門國際貿易投資展覽會」(MIF),他表示,公司參展是值得的,讓葡語國家當局知道該公司的存在,亦感謝澳門貿促局積極地向葡語國家推薦查里斯通等澳門企業。

談及查里斯通未來在葡語國家的業務發展,史力強看好公司在東帝汶的發展前景,其公司正積極爭取興建當地公務員宿舍的承包合同;他們早前亦與幾內亞比紹政府代表會晤,商談在當地投資基建的可能性;展望未來,中葡經貿合作將會增加,許多澳門公司願意利用澳門平台所提供的機會開展業務,「中葡關係發展前景一片光明」。

查里斯通(澳門)工程技術與顧問有限公司董事史力強

查里斯通(澳門)工程技術與顧問有限公司董事史力強