Due to historical ties, Macao has forged close and extensive connections with Portuguese-speaking countries (PSCs) across four continents which cover a total population of over 200 million. Macao is a city free from external debt and foreign currency restrictions, and enjoys the status as both a free port and a separate customs territory. It adopts a simple and low taxation system with a corporate profit tax rate not exceeding 12%. Macao has a public administration structure and legal system based on those of Portugal and follows a public administration and legal regime similar to other PSCs, which facilitates an understanding of respective systems between China and PSCs. In addition to Chinese, Portuguese is also the official language of Macao, and contracts and agreements in both languages are signed between enterprises. Macao has a large pool of bilingual professionals as well as many Portuguese expatriates and immigrants who can provide translation/interpretation, accounting and legal services to enterprises from the mainland and PSCs during their commercial negations and co-operation. Meanwhile, Macao has played its unique advantages as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below “China and PSCs Platform”).

The Ministerial Conference of the Forum for Economic and Trade Co-operation between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below as ‘Forum Macao’) has been convened in Macao five times since 2003, and during each session a Strategic Plan for Economic and Trade Co-operation was signed. The Permanent Secretariat of Forum Macao was established in Macao in 2004 to execute and implement the resolutions approved at the conference.

In the 5th Ministerial Conference of Forum Macao in October 2016, leaders of China and PSCs signed the Strategic Plan for Economic and Trade Co-operation (2017-2019). During the opening ceremony, China announced 18 new supportive measures including the support of Macao in the construction the China and PSCs Platform. After the conference, Macao SAR Government actively implemented measures and promoted the development of various objectives, namely the inauguration of China-Portuguese-speaking Countries Federation of Entrepreneurs in Macao, the set-up of China and Portuguese-speaking Countries Co-operation and Development Fund headquarter and the orderly implementation of the “Three Centres” through a series of online and offline efforts (namely a food product distribution centre for PSCs, a convention and exhibition centre for economic and trade co-operation between China and PSCs, and a commercial and trade service centre for SMEs of China and PSCs). Furthermore, the Complex of Commerce and Trade Co-operation Platform for China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below as ‘the Complex’), already completed and put into use, will serve the permanent venue of Forum Macao and provide facilitation services for co-operation between China and PSCs with its integrated functions covering commercial services, economic and trade negotiations, product display, cultural exhibitions and information exchange.  In December 2019, President Xi Jinping when paid a visit at the Complex mentioned that the construction of Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries is an important measure for Macau in giving full play of its own strengths and serving the needs of our country.

In April 2022, the Extraordinary Ministerial Meeting of the Forum for Economic and Trade Co-operation between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (Macao) was held in Beijing and Macao via online and offline and the main venue of the Meeting was held in the “Complex”. The Meeting was held under the theme “Cooperate to fight against the pandemic, Collaborate for common development” where was discussed the role of Macao as a platform to promote the economic recovery. In the opening ceremony, the Premier of State Council, Li Keqiang in his video speech in Beijing, pointed out three suggestions, namely maintain peace and stability to promote development and prosperity; strengthen solidarity and coordination to defeat the pandemic at an early date and stick to openness and cooperation to promote economic recovery. After the Meeting, leaders of Forum Macao signed the “Joint Declaration”. In addition, the ministers of the participating countries declared officially the acceptance of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea as the tenth participating country of the Forum Macao.

The National 14th Five-Year Plan clearly states the support of Macao to expand its functions as Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries. The Macao SAR published the second five-year plan which also stressed the need to deepen the construction of the Service platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries, further expand the functions of China and PSCs Platform and actively develop the exchange and co-operation in the areas of economy, trade, finance and culture. With the support of Central Government, Macau will enhance its role as service platform and speed up a “dual circulation” growth model and further serve as a bridge for two-way exchanges and co-operation between the China, Macao and Portuguese Speaking Countries.

Attachment: Portuguese speaking countries economic data in 2021

基於歷史淵源,澳門與橫跨四大洲、人口兩億多的葡語國家有着緊密且廣泛的聯繫。澳門沒有外債,沒有外匯管制,享有自由港及單獨關稅區地位,稅制簡單且稅率低,企業所得補充稅稅率最高僅為12%。同時,澳門的公共行政架構和法律體系源自葡萄牙,與其他葡語國家的公共行政和法律制度相近,有助於中國與葡語國家瞭解對方的相關制度。語言上,除了使用中文外,葡文亦為澳門的正式語文,企業在訂立合約時以中文及葡文簽訂。加上澳門擁有眾多中葡雙語人才,以及不少的葡僑和葡籍移民,可為中國與葡語國家的商務洽談和合作提供翻譯、會計、法律等專業服務。因此,澳門長期發揮着中國與葡語國家商貿合作服務平台(以下簡稱“中葡平台”)的獨特優勢。

自2003年首屆中國-葡語國家經貿合作論壇(澳門)(以下簡稱“中葡論壇”)部長級會議在澳門舉行以來,已先後舉行五屆,每屆會議均通過《經貿合作行動綱領》。期間,2004年中葡論壇常設秘書處在澳門正式設立,負責執行和落實部長級會議作出的各項決定。

2016年10月舉行的中葡論壇第五屆部長級會議,論壇與會國共同簽署了《經貿合作行動綱領(2017-2019年)》等文件,明確未來三年中國與葡語國家經貿合作的主要領域和發展方向。開幕式上,中方宣佈了18項新舉措,其中涉及支持澳門中葡平台建設。會後,澳門特區政府積極落實有關舉措,推進各項工作開展,包括:在澳門成立“中國與葡語國家企業家聯合會”,中葡合作發展基金總部落戶澳門,持續透過線上線下相結合的方式有序落實“三個中心”(即“葡語國家食品集散中心”、“中葡經貿合作會展中心”和“中葡中小企業商貿服務中心”)建設等。同時,已經落成使用的中國與葡語國家商貿合作服務平台綜合體(以下簡稱“綜合體”)作為中葡論壇固定會議場地,集商貿服務、經貿洽談、商品展示、文化展覽、信息交流於一體,為中國與葡語國家友好合作提供便利服務。2019年12月,國家主席習近平考察綜合體時表示,建設中國與葡語國家商貿合作服務平台,是澳門發揮自身所長、服務國家所需的重要舉措。

2022年4月,中葡論壇部長級特別會議以線上+線下形式於北京、澳門兩地舉行,主會場設在綜合體。會議以“攜手抗疫,共謀發展”為主題,探討發揮澳門平台作用,推動經濟復甦。開幕式上,國務院總理李克強在北京透過視頻致辭時提出三點建議,分別是維護和平穩定,促進發展繁榮;加強團結協作,早日戰勝疫情;堅持開放合作,推動經濟復甦。會後,各國部長簽署《聯合聲明》。此外,與會國部長還發表聲明,正式吸納赤道幾內亞共和國成為中葡論壇第十個與會國。

國家“十四五”規劃明確提出,支持澳門擴展中國與葡語國家商貿合作服務平台功能。澳門特區政府公佈的“二五”規劃也提到,澳門要深化中葡平台建設,進一步擴展中葡平台功能,積極開展中國與葡語國家在經貿、金融、文化等領域的交流和合作。在中央政府的支持下,澳門將切實做好平台服務,加快融入國家“雙循環”發展格局,進一步為內地、澳門與葡語國家的雙向交流合作搭建橋樑。

附件:2021年葡語國家經貿數據資料