Mr Charles Shi, Chairman of Charlestrong Coffee Co. Ltd., is another entrepreneur that commends IPIM’s “One-stop Service” for Investors. Mr Shi is an expert in the field of infrastructure and mining, and is particularly experienced in developing housing and other infrastructure projects in Portuguese-speaking Countries via Charlestrong Engineering Technology and Consulting (Macau) Ltd.

During numerous visits to Portuguese-speaking Countries, the entrepreneur became aware of the quality of organic coffee beans grown in Timor-Leste. Thus, he started mulling the possibility of setting up a coffee factory in Macao, importing coffee beans from Timor-Leste and processing the beans and packaging the relevant products in Macao, leading to the launch of a series of coffee products under the brand “Café Diliy”.

Seeing that his other businesses have been well supported by IPIM, Mr Shi said it was clear that his project to establish Charlestrong Coffee and its processing plant could get help from IPIM’s “One-stop Service” for Investors. After it was established in July 2019, Charlestrong Coffee spent about a year to transform an old industrial unit with 5,000 square feet of floor space in Areia Preta into a coffee processing plant. The plant was granted an industrial permit in July 2020.

“IPIM has taken great care of us at every stage of this process, and followed up on our progress,” Mr Shi said. “When we had any abrupt challenges, it would also actively help us out. These are all the reasons why we could set up a factory in Macao so swiftly.”

Café Diliy has established itself in the Macao market, with its products in MGM restaurants and shops, and at the online shopping mall run by Nam Kwong, a Chinese state-owned enterprise. On the recommendation of IPIM, Charlestrong Coffee has exhibited at major trade events such as the MIF, and held meetings with enterprises and other entities in Macao to discuss business, Mr Shi said. He said this could help the Café Diliy brand have a greater presence in the market.

For now, development of the business has been stalled by the pandemic. “However, with the stabilisation of the pandemic and the resumption of visitor arrivals to the city, the local business environment will gradually recover,” Mr Shi said. “If the number of visitors to the city could get back to pre-pandemic levels, receiving nearly 40 million visitors in 2019, this enormous number of travellers and residents here could prove enough demand for our business volume at the moment,” he added.

The company is now looking for a newer, bigger place in Macao to relocate its processing plant so that its production capacity can increase to transform 5,000 tonnes of coffee beans a year. The company may venture into the Mainland Chinese market in the future. “The goals for this coffee brand are very straightforward: helping the Portuguese-speaking Country Timor-Leste achieve prosperity through coffee exports, while creating a ‘Made in Macao’ brand so that more people around the world can know about Macao and the Portuguese-speaking Countries through our products,” Mr Shi said.

“The goals for this coffee brand are very straightforward: helping the Portuguese-speaking Country Timor-Leste achieve prosperity through coffee exports, while creating a ‘Made in Macao’ brand.” Mr Charles Shi, Chairman of Charlestrong Coffee Co. Ltd.

Café Diliy is now an established coffee brand in the Macao market

对贸促局投资者“一站式”服务赞不绝口的还有查理斯通咖啡有限公司董事长史力强。他以往主要从事基础建设及矿业等业务,特别是协助葡语国家发展住房等基建项目,现时在本澳设有查理斯通工程技术与顾问有限公司。史力强在多次拜访葡语国家期间,发现东帝汶盛产优质有机咖啡豆,便萌生了在澳门设立咖啡厂及推出“Café Diliy”咖啡品牌的念头,从东帝汶进口咖啡豆,然后在澳门加工包装。

由于以往业务曾受惠于贸促局的协助扶持,史力强表示,是次设立咖啡公司及厂房亦理所当然地寻求投资者“一站式”服务的支援。查理斯通咖啡有限公司于2019年7月正式开业,然后花了约一年的时间,将黑沙环区一个面积约5,000呎的陈旧厂房改建成咖啡厂,并于2020年7月顺利获批工业准照。“贸促局在设厂过程的每个阶段都对我们关怀备至,一直跟进我们的状况及进展,当我们遇上任何突发难题,也积极协助我们解决,这些都促使了我们能够迅速地在澳门设厂。 ”

“Café Diliy”咖啡产品已成功打入澳门市场,目前在美高梅旗下的餐饮零售场所,以及南光通线上购物商城上出售。史力强指出,在贸促局引介推荐下,该企参加了如MIF等重要会展活动,亦与不少本地企业及机构洽谈合作,扩阔销售渠道,但由于疫情关系,当中的进程稍有拖延。“然而,随着疫情渐缓,旅客再次来澳后,市况会逐步恢復。若市况回復至2019年的情况,澳门每年接待4,000万旅客人次,这庞大的居民及旅客消费群体足以满足我们目前的业务发展。 ”

该公司亦积极物色面积较大的新厂房,以扩大其生产能力至每年5,000吨咖啡豆,并按市况需求,未来或计划打入中国内地市场。“我们成立咖啡品牌的初衷十分简单——透过咖啡豆协助东帝汶这一葡语国家走向致富的道路,以及打造澳门制造品牌,将产品带向世界各地,让更多人认识澳门及葡语国家。 ”史力强道。

“我们成立咖啡品牌的初衷十分简单枣透过咖啡豆协助东帝汶这一葡语国家走向致富的道路,以及打造澳门制造品牌。 ” 查理斯通咖啡有限公司董事长史力强

 

Café Diliy咖啡品牌已成功打入本澳市场