Federative Republic of Brazil

Federative Republic of Brazil, commonly known as Brazil, is a country located in southeastern South America. It borders French Guiana, Suriname, Guyana, Venezuela and Colombia in the north, Peru and Bolivia in the west, Paraguay, Argentina and Uruguay in the south, and the Atlantic Ocean in the east. The land area is 8,510,295 square kilometres and the population is over 210 million. It is the country with the largest area and the largest population in Latin America, as well as the country of fifth largest land area and the sixth largest population in the world. The official language of Brazil is Portuguese. The residents mainly believe in Catholicism and Protestantism. Brazil is divided into 26 states and a federal district. Municipalities are set under the states. There are 5,570 municipalities nationwide. The capital of Brazil is Brasilia, which is the political centre of the country. São Paulo is the largest city, and the centre of industry, commerce, finance and transportation.

Brazil has a sound legal system and huge market capacity, as well as enormous resources and profound influence in the international market, hence great potential for economic development. In recent years, the government has launched a series of reform measures to boost the economy by reducing the operating costs of enterprises and further opening the market. Brazil has diplomatic relations with 192 countries. Currently, Brazil is a member of the United Nations (UN), World Trade Organisation (WTO), Organisation of American States (OAS), Southern Common Market (Mercosul), Community of Portuguese Countries (CPLP) and other international and regional organisations, as well as a member of various multi-lateral mechanisms such as the G20, BRICS, as well as the China-Portuguese-Speaking Countries Economic and Trade Co-operation Forum.

Overview of Economic and Trade Co-operation between China and Brazil

China and Brazil formally established diplomatic relations on 15 August 1974. In 1993, the two countries established a strategic partnership. In 2012, it was further upgraded to a comprehensive strategic partnership. Since the establishment of diplomatic relations, high-level visits between the two countries have been frequent. The co-operation in fields of international affairs, international organisations and multi-lateral mechanisms has continued to develop. The two countries have maintained good communication on major international issues such as the reform of the international financial system, climate change, and sustainable development. In addition to the establishment of embassies by the two sides, China has set up consulates general in Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro and Recife, while Brazil has set up consulates general in Shanghai, Guangzhou and Hong Kong.

The bilateral economic and trade relation between China and Brazil has made considerable progress. Since 2009, China has been the largest trading partner of Brazil for ten consecutive years. At the same time, Brazil is China’s largest trading partner in Latin America and among the BRICS countries. According to statistics from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), China-Brazil bilateral trade volume was close to US$ 100 billion in 2019. In terms of investment, China’s investment in Brazil mainly involves energy, minerals, agriculture, infrastructure, manufacturing and other industries. Brazil’s investment in China is mainly in compressor production, coal, real estate, auto parts production, textiles and apparel projects. In addition, Chinese enterprises have undertaken large-scale infrastructure projects such as thermal power plants, UHV transmission lines, natural gas pipelines, and port dredging in Brazil.

China and Brazil have continuously deepened exchanges and co-operation in the fields of politics, economy and trade, justice, tourism, transportation, science and technology, culture and education. The two countries signed more than 100 important co-operation documents. In terms of aerospace, meteorology, and biotechnology, the China-Brazil joint development of the Earth Resources Satellite Project is known as a successful example of South-South co-operation. It has successfully launched 4 satellites. Satellite data is widely used in Africa, South America, and Asia-Pacific regions. Images are provided to many countries in Africa and Asia free-of-charge. Furthermore, Brazil is the country in Latin America which has the largest number of joint laboratories with China. The two sides have established collaborative agricultural laboratories, climate change and energy innovation technology centres, nano research centres, South American space weather laboratories, and meteorological satellite joint centres. A biotechnology centre is currently under construction.

Information of Business Opportunities in Brazil

Brazil is rich in mineral, land, forest and hydraulic resources. In terms of mineral resources, the reserves of 29 minerals such as niobium, manganese, titanium, bauxite, lead, tin, iron and uranium rank among the top in the world. Among them, the proven reserves of niobium ore are 4.559 million tons, and the output accounts for more than 90% of the world’s total output. The proved reserves of oil are 15.3 billion barrels, ranking 15th in the world and second in South America, only second to Venezuela. In terms of forestry and hydraulic resources, the forest coverage rate is 62%, and the wood reserves are 65.8 billion cubic metres, accounting for one fifth of the world. Brazil has abundant water resources, with 18% of the world’s fresh water.

Brazil has a relatively strong industrial base and ranks first in Latin America. Among them, nuclear power, communications, electronics, aircraft manufacturing, biofuels and other industries rank among the best worldwide.

With regard to agriculture and animal husbandry, Brazil has more than 180 million hectares of arable land, 76.7 million hectares of cultivated land, and 172.3 million hectares of pasture. The production of coffee, sugar, citrus, and kidney beans ranks first in the world. It is the world’s second largest GM crop growing country, the largest soybean producer, the fourth largest corn producer, and the world’s largest exporter of beef and chicken.

The service industry plays an important role in Brazil’s economic development. It is not only the industry with the highest output value, but also provides the most jobs. The main sectors of service industry include real estate, leasing, tourism, finance, insurance, information, advertising, consulting and technical services. Among them, the tourism industry has considerable international competitiveness.

 

 

Main economic indicators for 2018

Gross Domestic Product (International exchange rate) (US$ billion) 1,885
GDP per capita (International exchange rate) (US$) 8,920.80
Real GDP Growth (Percentage) 3
Inflation, GDP deflator (Percentage) 3.7
Surface area (sq. km) 8,510,820
Population 209,469,333

Source: 1. Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics, https://www.ibge.gov.br/en/home-eng.html

 

Major Trading Partners of Brazil (2019)

Main Export Destinations Total Exports (US$ millions) Percentage (%)
China 62,265.90 28
USA 29,539.50 13.3
Netherlands 9,995.30 4.5
Argentina 9546.9 4.3
Main Origin for Imports Total Exports (US$ millions) Percentage (%)
China 37,385.90 19.9
USA 32,234.20 17.2
Argentina 11,185.20 6
Germany 10,898.00 5.8

Source: International Monetary Fund, https://www.imf.org/en/Data

 

Foreign Trades of Brazil

(US$ million)

Year Total trade Total exports Total imports
2019 410,173.50 222,199.90 187,973.60
2018 432,329.70 242,363.30 189,966.40

Source: International Monetary Fund Data, https://www.imf.org/en/Data

 

Statistics of Trades between Macao and Brazil 

Year Total trade Total exports Total imports
2019 64,875,027 64,943 64,810,084
2018 57,363,870 5,042 57,358,828

Note: The exchange rate of USD to MOP is 1:8.
Source: Statistics and Census Service (DSEC), Macao SAR Government, https://www.dsec.gov.mo/

 

Source of Data:

Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics
https://www.ibge.gov.br/en/home-eng.html

World Bank
https://data.worldbank.org/

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, People’s Republic of China
https://www.fmprc.gov.cn/

International Monetary Fund Data:
https://www.imf.org/en/Data

Statistics and Census Service, Macao SAR Government

巴西联邦共和国

巴西联邦共和国,通称巴西,位于南美洲东南部,北邻法属圭亚那、苏里南、圭亚那、委内瑞拉和哥伦比亚,西连秘鲁、玻利维亚,南接巴拉圭、阿根廷和乌拉圭,东濒大西洋。国土面积8,510,295平方公里,拥有超过2.1亿人口,是拉美地区面积最大、人口最多的国家,同时为全球土地面积第五大、人口第六大的国家。巴西的官方语言为葡萄牙语,居民主要信奉天主教及基督教。巴西共分26个州和1个联邦区,州下设市,全国共有5,570个市。首都为巴西利亚,是全国的政治中心,圣保罗为最大城市,是全国工商、金融、交通中心。

巴西法制健全,具有巨大的市场容量、资源体量和国际市场影响力,经济发展潜力大。近年,政府推出一系列提振经济的改革措施,以降低企业的经营成本,并进一步开放市场。巴西与192个国家建有外交关系,目前是联合国(UN)、世界贸易组织(WTO)、美洲国家组织(OAS)、南方共同市场(Mercosul)、葡萄牙语国家共同体(CPLP)等国际和地区组织的成员,以及二十国集团(G20)、金砖国家(BRICS)、中国-葡语国家经贸合作论坛等多边机制的成员国。

中国与巴西经贸合作概况

1974年8月15日,中国与巴西建立外交关系。1993年,两国建立战略伙伴关系。2012年,进一步提升至全面战略伙伴关系。自建交以来,两国高层交往频繁,在国际事务、国际组织和多边机制中合作密切,并就国际金融体系改革、气候变化、可持续发展等重大国际问题保持良好的沟通。双方除互设大使馆外,中方在圣保罗市、里约热内卢市和累西腓市设有总领事馆,巴方在上海、广州和香港设有总领事馆。

中巴的双边经贸关系取得长足发展。自2009年起,中国连续十年稳居巴西第一大贸易伙伴。同时,巴西是中国在拉美和金砖国家最大贸易伙伴。根据国际货币基金组织(IMF)统计,2019年中巴双边贸易额接近1,000亿美元。在投资方面,中国对巴西投资主要涉及能源、矿产、农业、基础设施、制造业等行业。巴西对中国投资主要为压缩机生产、煤炭、房地产、汽车零部件生产、纺织服装等项目。此外,中国企业在巴西承建了火电厂、特高压输电线路、天然气管道、港口疏浚等大型基础设施项目。

中巴两国在政治、经贸、司法、旅游、运输、科学技术、文化教育等领域交流合作不断发展,并签订了100多项重要合作檔。在航空航天、气象、生物技术方面,中巴联合研制地球资源卫星项目被誉为南南合作的典范,已成功发射4颗卫星,卫星数据广泛应用于非洲、南美洲、亚太地区,并免费向非洲、亚洲多国提供图像。此外,巴西是我国在拉美地区共建联合实验室最多的国家,双方建有农业联合实验室、气候变化和能源创新技术中心、纳米研究中心、南美空间天气实验室,气象卫星联合中心等,并正在筹建生物技术中心。

巴西的商机信息

巴西的矿产、土地、森林和水力资源十分丰富。在矿产资源方面,铌、锰、钛、铝矾土、铅、锡、铁、铀等29种矿物储量位居世界前列。其中,铌矿储量已探明455.9万吨,产量占世界总产量的90%以上,石油探明储量153亿桶,居世界第15位,南美地区第二位,仅次于委内瑞拉。在森林和水力资源方面,森林覆盖率达62%,木材储量658亿立方米,占全球五分之一。巴西的水力资源十分丰富,拥有世界18%的淡水。

巴西的工业基础较雄厚,实力居拉美首位。其中,核电、通讯、电子、飞机制造、生物燃料等行业已跨入世界先进行列。

农牧业方面,巴西的可耕地面积逾1.8亿公顷,已耕地7,670万公顷,牧场1.723亿公顷,咖啡、蔗糖、柑橘、菜豆产量居世界首位,是全球第二大基因作物种植国、第一大大豆生产国、第四大玉米生产国,同时也是世界上最大的牛肉和鸡肉出口国。

服务业对巴西经济发展举足轻重,它不仅是产值最高的产业,也是创造就业机会最多的行业。主要部门包括不动产、租赁、旅游业、金融、保险、信息、广告、咨询和技术服务等。其中,旅游业具备一定的国际竞争力。

 

2018年主要经济指标

本地生产总值(国际汇率)(十亿美元) 1,885
人均生产总值(国际汇率)(美元) 8,920.80
本地生产总值实际增长率(百分比) 3
通胀率(百分比) 3.7
土地面积(平方公里) 8,510,820
人口 209,469,333

数据源:1. 巴西国家地理与统计局,https://www.ibge.gov.br/en/home-eng.html
2. 世界银行,https://data.worldbank.org/

 

巴西的主要贸易伙伴(2019年)

主要出口目的地 出口总额(百万美元) 百分比(%)
中国 62,265.90 28
美国 29,539.50 13.3
荷兰 9,995.30 4.5
阿根廷 9546.9 4.3
主要入口来源地 进口总额(百万美元) 百分比(%)
中国 37,385.90 19.9
美国 32,234.20 17.2
阿根廷 11,185.20 6
德国 10,898.00 5.8

数据源:国际货币基金组织,https://www.imf.org/en/Data

 

巴西的对外贸易统计

(单位:百万美元)

年份 进出口总额 出口总额 进口总额
2019 410.173,5 222.199,9 187.973,6
2018 432.329,7 242.363,3 189.966,4

数据源:国际货币基金组织,https://www.imf.org/en/Data

澳门与巴西的进出口贸易统计

(单位:美元)

年份 进出口总额 出口总额 进口总额
2019 64.875.027 64.94 64.810.084
2018 57.363.870 5.04 57.358.828

备注:美元对澳门元兑换率为1:8
数据源:澳门特别行政区政府统计暨普查局,https://www.dsec.gov.mo/

数据源:

巴西国家地理与统计局
https://www.ibge.gov.br/en/home-eng.html

世界银行
https://data.worldbank.org/

中华人民共和国外交部
https://www.fmprc.gov.cn/

国际货币基金组织
https://www.imf.org/en/Data

澳门特别行政区政府统计暨普查局
https://www.dsec.gov.mo/