EU‭: ‬Intellectual Property Rights‭ (‬IPR‭)‬

Intellectual Property Rights (IPRs) are one of the principal means through which companies, creators, researchers and inventors generate returns on their investment in knowledge and creation. As companies increasingly compete on innovation, creativity and quality in the global economy, the protection of IPR is essential particular for SMEs which do not have the resource to manage large IP portfolios or engage on protracted litigation.

What is intellectual property?

Intellectual property consists of products, work or process that you have created and which give you a competitive advantage. There are 3 subcategories:

Industrial property: inventions (patents), trademarks, industrial designs, new varieties of plants and geographic indications of origin

Artistic Work protected by copyright: original literary and artistic works, music, television broadcasting, software, databases, architectural designs, advertising creations and multimedia

Commercial strategies: trade secrets, know-how, confidentiality agreements, or rapid production.

Protection of IP

Intellectual property can be protected by means of the intellectual property rights (IPR) laid down by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The form of protection depends on the on the type of IP:

Patents – allow a company to stop third parties from making, using or selling its invention for a certain period depending on the type of invention

Trademarks – protect the name of the product by preventing other business from selling a product under the same name

Copyright – informs others that the author intends to control the production, distribution, display or performance of your work. Copyright is granted automatically, with no need for formal registration. The author can start using the copyright symbol immediately.

Doing business in more than one EU country, a European Union trade mark and a registered community design give you protection in the 28 Member States of the EU in one single registration. Registration of trade mark or design can be apply in any of 23 EU languages at the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO). An online application costs € 850 for a trade mark and € 350 for a Community design.

A national patent can be applied at a patent office in an EU country or for a European patent through European Patent Office (EPO). However, a European patent needs to be a validated by the national patent office in each country where protection is required. Depending on the country’s law, the applicant may have to provide translations or pay fee by a certain date.

Intellectual property (IP) can improve the competitiveness of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and provide a potential source of revenue. However, SMEs often lack the time, resources, or knowledge to address IP issues. The European Commission aims to help SMEs use IP more effectively by providing tools such as IP Helpdesks and by regularly evaluating the support available to small businesses.

IPR SME helpdesks

The IPR SME Helpdesk supports European Union (EU) small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) to both protect and enforce their Intellectual Property (IP) rights in or relating to China, Latin America, Southeast Asia through the provision of free information and services. These take the form of jargon-free, first-line, confidential advice on intellectual property and related issues, plus training, materials and online resources.

The EU funds four IPR helpdesks staffed by experts who can provide free advice and training sessions on IP issues:

• The European IPR Helpdesk offers tailored advice to researchers and European SMEs participating in EU-funded research projects and SMEs involved in international technology transfer processes.

• Three specialised helpdesks support European SMEs in China, South-East Asia and Latin America. These multilingual helpdesks offer free services including confidential first-line advice on registering formal IPRs (such as patents, trademarks or design rights), managing intellectual property as business assets, dealing with intellectual property rights infringements, and the provision of information and training on related topics.

The helpdesks are funded by COSME, Europe’s programme for small and medium- sized enterprises, ICI, Europe’s Instrument for Cooperation with Industrialized Countries and Horizon 2020, the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation.

Tin300_p13a Tin300_p13b Tin300_p13c

Source:

For more information and details regarding “EU Intellectual Property”, please visit the website at:

https://euipo.europa.eu/ohimportal/en

For more tips on investing and trading in the EU, please contact the Business Cooperation Centre of  Enterprise Europe Network Central China – Macao Office (EENCC Macao Office) at Tel: 2871 3338, 2872 7882/Fax: 2871 3339/Email: info@ieem.org.mo

欧盟:知识产权

知识产权是公司、创作人员、研究人员、及发明人投资在知识及创作上而获取回报的主要途径之一。在全球经济环境下,公司间在创新、创造以及质量上面对的竞争日趋激烈,保护知识产权对缺乏资源管理庞大的知识产权资产或参与长期诉讼的中小企而言,尤其重要。

知识产权是什么?

知识产权包括由创作人员创造出来使其具有竞争优势的产品、作品或程序。知识产权主要可分为三类:

工业产权: 发明(专利)、商标、工业品外观设计、新植物物种及原产地地理标志;

受版权保护的艺术作品: 原创文学及艺术作品、音乐、电视广播、软件、资料库、建筑外观设计、广告创作及多媒体 ;

商业策略: 商业秘密、技术、保密协议、或快速生产。

知识产权的保护

世界知产权组织(WIPO)拟订的知识产权制度有助提供保障,保护的形式视乎有关的知识产权类型而定:

专利-视乎发明的类型,公司在若干时间内可制止第三方制作、使用或出售其发明;

商标-保护产品的名称,防止其他商业机构以同一名称出售产品;

版权-知会其他人士作者有意控制其作品的制作、分销、展示或演出。版权是一项自动赋予的权利,毋需正式注册。作者在完成创作后便可即时使用版权标志。

即使在多个欧盟国家经营业务,只需作出一次注册,便可凭欧盟商标及欧盟的注册共同体外观设计在28个欧盟会员国得到保障。相关人士可向支援23种语言的欧盟知识产权局(EUIPO)申请注册商标或外观设计,欧盟商标及欧盟的注册共同体外观设计的网上注册申请费用分别为850欧罗及350欧罗。

创作人可向各欧盟国家的专利局申请国家专利,或向欧洲专利局(EPO)申请欧洲专利。然而,欧洲专利需经由该专利保障所属国家的国家专利局作出核证。按各国的法律规定,申请人或有需要在指定时间提供相关文件的译本或缴付费用。

知识产权有助提升中小企的竞争力并成为潜在的收入来源。然而,中小企一般欠缺时间、资源或相关知识处理知识产权的事宜。欧盟委员会透过提供知识产权服务平台(IP Helpdesk)等工具,及定期评估为小型企业提供的支援,借以协助中小企更有效地运用知识产权。

欧盟中小企业知识产权服务平台

中小企业知识产权服务平台透过提供免费资讯及服务,协助欧盟中小企在中国、拉丁美洲、东南亚或涉及相关国家的情况下保护及执行知识产权。服务包括就知识产权及相关事宜提供不涉及专业术语的前线保密咨询,以及提供培训、资料及网上资源。

欧盟资助四个知识产权服务平台,由专家免费提供有关知识产权的意见及培训﹕
• 欧盟知识产权服务平台按个别情况提供适切的意见,服务对象包括参与欧盟资助的研究项目的研究人员及欧洲中小企,以及参与国际技术转移过程的中小企业。

• 三个特定服务平台负责向位于中国、东南亚及拉丁美洲的欧洲中小企提供支援。这些多语言的服务平台提供免费服务,包括就知识产权注册(如专利、商标或外观设计权),以商业资产形式管理知识产权、处理有关侵犯知识产权的事宜提供前线保密咨询,以及就相关事项提供资讯及培训。

服务平台由多个项目资助,包括欧盟提升企业和中小企业竞争力计划(COSME)、欧盟与工业国家合作工具(ICI)及地平线2020(Horizo​​n 2020),以及欧盟研究和创新框架计划(EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation)。

Tin300_p13a Tin300_p13b Tin300_p13c

资料来源:
如欲了解更多「欧盟知识产权」的资讯,请浏览﹕
https://euipo.europa.eu/ohimportal/en
如欲查询更多有关在欧盟国家投资及贸易的资讯,请与欧洲企业服务网络华中中心–澳门办事处联络,电话:2871 3338, 2872 7882 / 传真: 2871 3339 / 电邮: info@ieem .org.mo